1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Setup For .html/.htm Files Without A Footer File

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by digitalpoint, Dec 1, 2004.

  1. Cyclops

    Cyclops sensei

    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    72
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #101
    Can someone update this thread with the new updated version of the coop code attached.
    SEMrush
     
    Cyclops, Apr 20, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Matt S

    Matt S Peon

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #102
    managed to get this working but now all my virtual includes are not displaying!
    it's on an html site the .htaccess looks like this:

    any help greatfully appreciated!! :)

    Matt
     
    Matt S, Apr 22, 2005 IP
  3. DJRubio

    DJRubio Peon

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #103
    Wow! This is a GREAT advantage!
    I was wondering how could I change my 350 html content pages without messing things up!!:D
    thanks!
     
    DJRubio, Apr 27, 2005 IP
  4. doggox

    doggox Guest

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #104
    I know I'm goin to sound a bit silly here, but I have read throught this entire post a couple of times and tried all sort of combinations for the .htaccess file, but I still can't get any ads to show up.

    When I try to validate, i get the "no ads found on...."

    The best thing that has happened to me all day was having the .htaccess file present without the 500 errors, or these ones

    "Warning: main(ad_network.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/fuzzypoi/public_html/doggox/passthru.php on line 12

    Warning: main(ad_network.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/fuzzypoi/public_html/doggox/passthru.php on line 12

    Warning: main(): Failed opening 'ad_network.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/fuzzypoi/public_html/doggox/passthru.php on line 12"


    I've tried adding in the "AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .htm .html " line before the "<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>....etc"

    I've tried adding a \ before the .htm and .html
    "RewriteCond %{SCRIPT_NAME} ^(.*)\.htm [NC,OR]
    RewriteCond %{SCRIPT_NAME} ^(.*)\.html [NC]"

    I've added 2 apache handlers because I'm using cpanel
    .htm server-parsed
    .html server-parsed

    do these need to into the .htaccess file?, if so where?

    all my pages are .htm and my server supports PHP

    I've tried to put the .htaccess in my \publichtml and my subdomain root directory.

    Can anyone offer me some suggestions...

    Cheers

    Nick

    Okay I finally figured it out!!!

    I had to change the pointer in the passthru.php file
    from ad_network.php to ad_network_251.php

    Thanks to all of this forum for all the ideas!!
     
    doggox, May 9, 2005 IP
  5. l234244

    l234244 Peon

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #105
    Is it ok to use this system to add a sitewide link to a website. For example add something like:

    <? include ('test.htm'); ?> in the passthru.php file and have a standard link in test.htm
     
    l234244, May 20, 2005 IP
  6. Haichi

    Haichi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    128
    #106
    I finally got this to work but my only problem is I can't get it to fit well with my site's design template

    http://www.kreyol.com/history.html

    the ads are showing up behind the top logo

    I've been trying to create a footer for this template but my coding is rusty

    I also have a section of my site that used frames I would have to redesign that.
     
    Haichi, May 29, 2005 IP
  7. City2

    City2 Peon

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #107
    Thats really smart. Thanks
     
    City2, Jun 4, 2005 IP
  8. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #108
    After trying this method for html pages, I finally got it to somewhat work using Matt's code above, except one thing, instead of the internal server error, it's putting just a "<" in my pages at the very bottom.

    In the code of my page I see "<</body>"

    Anyone know how I can fix this and make the ads actually show? Thanks.

    Site is http://www.directorysource.info
     
    Colleen, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  9. protesto

    protesto Peon

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #109
    I need to put the ads on a bunch of .htm files and also a .php file on my root folder (all without a footer file). I think the setup mentioned here works if all the files on the root folder are .html or .htm, which is not really my case. Could anybody help me on this?
     
    protesto, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  10. Thewormman

    Thewormman Peon

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #110
    Have seen this thread keep coming up, has anyone mentioned using the very simple:

    XBitHack full

    in the htaccess file so all html and htm files you want to will act as shtml and process the one line shtml include, WITHOUT changing any extentions?

    Probably been mentioned somewhere else... :)

    Yell if anyone wants to know how.
     
    Thewormman, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  11. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #111
    Hello Thewormman, I would like to know how since the ads aren't working for me using the other methods in this thread. Thanks.
     
    Colleen, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  12. Daniel

    Daniel Peon

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #112
    This can also be done server wide. If your host is willing they can make htm, html, shtml, and any other extension of their choice will act as shtml and execute the SSI script.

    :D
     
    Daniel, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  13. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #113
    Well, my pages have been sitting there fucked all day cause no one will help. I could show the ads with php pages, but I'd prefer to keep them as html and all that's being displayed is "<" at the bottom of my page, not very useful.
     
    Colleen, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  14. Daniel

    Daniel Peon

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #114
    is the page extension .shtml?

    Let me look at the code. Ill fix the SSI call if the syntaxt is wrong. but your webhost has to have SSI enabled and usually by default the page extension has to be .shtml to parse the script through an SSI call.
     
    Daniel, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  15. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #115
    Yeah, but we're doing something here so we don't have to change the extension. But if I have to resort to .shtml well then... it's the .htaccess shit, what Shawn posted wouldn't work for me, but what Matt posted worked, as in no internal server error but the ads are not displaying.
     
    Colleen, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  16. Daniel

    Daniel Peon

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #116
    Babe the web host can modify the /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf file to allow all extension to parse script through SSI calls.

    ie. all pages would work and the ads will display.

    When you say your doing something you mean you and the host?

    If so then he is probably making the modifications Im talking about as we speak :D:D
     
    Daniel, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  17. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #117
    Not me and the host. I already know I can do the SSI way. I meant this thread, what IT's trying to help us do. :)
    I can already show the ads using php or ssi, but then I saw this thread and that I could keep my FILENAME as html and that's what I prefer so I tried it and have been having issues.
     
    Colleen, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  18. Daniel

    Daniel Peon

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #118
    ok hehehe

    .shtml is SSI

    you are trying to get html and htm etc to do the same thing that .shtml does right?

    Either the HOST (Server Admin) can modify the httpd.conf file to include these two lines or you can put them in your .htaccess file.

    I setup my servers with these lines to make the .shtml stuff work across .htm and .html pages as well as .shtml

    AddType text/html .shtml
    AddHandler server-parsed .shtml .htm .html
     
    Daniel, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  19. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #119
    I know for sure it works on my hosts server. It's what I am trying to do now that won't work. :(

    If you just set-up PayPal, Daniel, I'd pay you for hosting and then you can fix all my problems on command, k?! :rolleyes:
     
    Colleen, Jun 5, 2005 IP
  20. Daniel

    Daniel Peon

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #120
    and what you are trying to do now is to get .shtml code to work with a .html extension right? :confused:
     
    Daniel, Jun 5, 2005 IP