1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Setting up a network

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by asgsoft, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. #1
    Hey everyone!!

    I am completely new to setting up networks.

    At the moment I have 4 desktops and a server and I would like to set up something that would allow:

    1- Universal login onto all 4 machines so one admin account to be used on all 4, several user accounts etc..
    2- File/Internet/printer sharing

    All the machines have windows XP installed. Is that the right thing for the server as well??
    SEMrush
    What is the best way to go around doing this?

    Thanks
     
    asgsoft, Apr 30, 2010 IP
    SEMrush
  2. robyries

    robyries Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    47
    Best Answers:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Digital Goods:
    1
    #2
    why not start with google browsing how to set up a network,...
     
    robyries, Apr 30, 2010 IP
  3. Amitoops

    Amitoops Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #3
    just get a network quality of and go to it homegroup and set your required data
     
    Amitoops, May 1, 2010 IP
  4. Lanarkshire IT Services

    Lanarkshire IT Services Guest

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Hi There

    I would like to help you with this and get your clients and server working together.

    I can even connect to your network over the interent and fix any problems or setup any required configuration.

    First of all:

    Which server operating system software do you have?

    Regards
     
  5. asgsoft

    asgsoft Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #5
    I have... not much luck.

    Nothing goes into explaining what I'd need to do with what I have atm :S

    i don't understand what you mean :S

    I am looking for advice on setting up a network... not hiring someone :|
     
    asgsoft, May 3, 2010 IP
  6. jjMoney

    jjMoney Guest

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Hmm, I would say connect them all up. Create a WORKGROUP or whatever its called these days. This gives you the say on what is shared. Allow what you want and you should be done?
     
    jjMoney, May 3, 2010 IP
  7. Lanarkshire IT Services

    Lanarkshire IT Services Guest

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Hi There

    Sorry maybe I sounded a bit business like there.

    No I meant I will help you set it up, for FREE.

    Either by posts on here, Email or Remote Support.

    Just tell me what your are aiming to do and with what server OS!

    Regards
     
  8. asgsoft

    asgsoft Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #8
    Aha OK I see, sorry about the confusion.

    Well I have 4 desktops and a server (not sure on the specs yet.) and I would like to set up something that would allow:

    1- Universal login onto all 4 machines so one admin account to be used on all 4, several user accounts etc..
    2- File/Internet/printer sharing.

    With regards to server OS... I am not sure. I think it might have Windows Server 2003. I am sure if it doesn't have that pre-installed I can go for a Linux or Unix based OS. So Where should I start?
     
    asgsoft, May 3, 2010 IP
  9. Lanarkshire IT Services

    Lanarkshire IT Services Guest

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Hi There

    Is this a network that actually exists or one you are designing?

    What I mean is do the clients and server have an OS? Or is that something you haven't decided yet?

    If it does exist I would determine whats on the server and clients BEFORE you commence anything.

    If the clients are XP or other Windows operating systems then getting this to work with a Linux server OS can be tricky.

    So please confirm client and server OS's

    Regards
     
  10. asgsoft

    asgsoft Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #10
    I have all the hardware being transferred from one place to another... so I am in the process of designing it atm.

    The machines are all formatted coming with a windows XP volume licence so I will be installing windows XP on all.

    Can I install XP on the server too?
     
    asgsoft, May 3, 2010 IP
  11. Lanarkshire IT Services

    Lanarkshire IT Services Guest

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Hi There

    You CAN install XP on the server but it will then NOT be a client / server network, it will be a peer to peer / workgroup type network which has limitations / restrictions which will not achieve your original aims.

    As these are XP clients I'd look for a server with Windows 2003 / 2008 in either Standard or Small Business editions.

    Regards
     
  12. asgsoft

    asgsoft Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #12
    OK cool. Once I get the server, I'll install that.

    However, what would I need to do after that?
     
    asgsoft, May 5, 2010 IP
  13. Lanarkshire IT Services

    Lanarkshire IT Services Guest

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Hi There

    A basic outline will be, once you have the server OS installed

    Set a static private IP on the LAN adaptor
    Then configure the server as Domain Controller with DNS / DHCP / AD services etc
    Reboot then start to configure your domain users / computers / groups /OUs etc
    Configure your server roles such as File / Print etc
    Configure your client PCs for the domain

    Thats just a basic outline and it requires more detail for each step which you can do one at a time and check of.

    Regards
     
  14. redshift07

    redshift07 Peon

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Why not try microsoft server 2008 that will help..
     
    redshift07, May 5, 2010 IP
  15. asgsoft

    asgsoft Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #15
    Yeah I was going to buy that today.. which edition do I need??

    Standard? Enterprise?? Datacenter?? Web Server??

    And does it matter if its a 32bit or a 64 bit?
     
    asgsoft, May 6, 2010 IP
  16. Lanarkshire IT Services

    Lanarkshire IT Services Guest

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Hi There

    I think standard would be appropriate for your needs but here is an editions comparison chart:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserver2008/en/us/r2-compare-features.aspx

    I would also recommend 64 bit edition as this will allow for more RAM

    Also get the edition with Hyper V builtin then you can create an additional fully licensed virtual server.

    Regards
     
    Lanarkshire IT Services, May 10, 2010 IP
  17. asgsoft

    asgsoft Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #17
    Why would I need an additional fully licensed virtual server?

    What do you think of Windows Home Server? Would that be alright?
     
    asgsoft, May 10, 2010 IP
  18. john201

    john201 Peon

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Thanks for sharing hardware guidelines hardware are tangible equipment of computer.
     
    john201, May 11, 2010 IP
  19. Lanarkshire IT Services

    Lanarkshire IT Services Guest

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Hi There

    An additional VM server would let you split your roles / functions from your Domain Controller.

    Yes home server will do OK and so will Windows Server 2008 Foundation but there are limitations on these.

    Regards
     
    Lanarkshire IT Services, May 13, 2010 IP
  20. asgsoft

    asgsoft Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #20
    Thing is, windows home server is the most affordable option and covers all the things we need to have for the network.
     
    asgsoft, May 13, 2010 IP