1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Server Install

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by fgsg, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. #1
    Hello,

    I buy today OVH server unmanaged my team install webmin,firewall,phpmyadmin some other package so all this spends about 230gb HDD space u think this is normal ?

    Thanks.
    fgsg, Feb 16, 2013 IP
  2. RHS-Chris

    RHS-Chris Active Member

    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #2
    Hello there,

    I would say this is not normal. If you have nothing on there but the OS and those few other items, you should be less than 10gb of space used in total.

    Regards,
    Chris
    RHS-Chris, Feb 16, 2013 IP
  3. UpReseller

    UpReseller Active Member

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    50
    Digital Goods:
    5
    #3
    I totally agree with Chris. The default VPS with a few addons can't eat so much disk space like that. Maybe something is wrong. You should try to reinstall.
    UpReseller, Feb 16, 2013 IP
  4. joebert

    joebert Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,152
    Likes Received:
    88
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    145
    #4
    Including operating system files, that sounds about right.
    joebert, Feb 17, 2013 IP
  5. GMF

    GMF Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    112
    Best Answers:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    145
    #5
    No it certainly does not.

    OS+webmin+firewall+phpmyadmin+"some other packages" does not take 230GB


    Recently, I bought a small server to use at home. I installed Debian+apache+samba+ftp+webmin+mysql+phpmyadmin+"some other packages" and I only use roughly 6 GB.


    I suggest you look up what takes that much space (df -h etc.) or newly install the os.
    GMF, Feb 18, 2013 IP
  6. JoshDylan

    JoshDylan Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #6
    It sounds like their installation process became defunct during processing. I've seen an issue before where the initial OS load files where spammed to the server by error causing huge disk space amounts.

    I would contact your provider very soon.
    JoshDylan, Feb 19, 2013 IP
  7. joebert

    joebert Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,152
    Likes Received:
    88
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    145
    #7
    You're right, I read that wrong the other day.
    joebert, Feb 21, 2013 IP
  8. greatseeder

    greatseeder Greenhorn

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #8
    Execute the following command and copy & paste here:
    df -h
    greatseeder, Feb 23, 2013 IP