1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

SECURITY: Prestashop vs. OpenCart vs. Magento

Discussion in 'eCommerce' started by turri40, Dec 2, 2012.

I used to be with osCommerce and have used Magento both got attacked frequently for hacking and SQL injections.

I like Magento and am using it now for a couple of stores.

I never updated either stores, so that could be the reason, but that's because I didn't know how to, because I'm not a programmer

> Which platform is more secure for a non-programmer out of the box
    > Which platform gets more attention from hackers and people looking to exploit
    > Which platform is cheaper to maintain
    > Which platform has lower developer/programmer costs, if I need to hire someone to upgrade/secure site. (I know the more developers a platform has it tends to be cheaper, that's why I initially went with osCommerce, but its not very user friendly.

I don't want to go for a hosted solution because I don't like the lack of customization.

turri40, Dec 2, 2012 IP
  2. dscurlock

dscurlock Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    from what I have read, i think the govt requires carts to be compliant in some way, I assume
    this has to deal with security, but check with the cart, if this is the case, then I would not worry
    so much about your cart security, I would worry about the security of your host that hosts your cart....
    and do not settle for a nickel/dime host either, your site will just end up being down more times
    then it will be up, and your chances of getting hacked will increase...

and dont be shy about contacting a host, and ask them lots of questions, this is your business,