1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Security issue - need help !

Discussion in 'Security' started by darrens, Sep 20, 2006.

Hi,

First of all im NOT a programmer at all but i do manage a large web site.

Web site is php and mysql.

I have a cms area on the (the address is not published online) web site that allows my staff members (200+) to login and manually upload various stock onto our web site to sell.

Each member has there own personal login and account.

The login is 2 simple form fields that allows the staff member to enter a user id and password and then from this we go off and check the details and let them in or not.
    When they enter they can see there own stock and then either add, edit or delete.

Over the past 2 months i have received 1 email saying one member logged into the site and saw someone elses stock ... but has since tried to do it again and it always logs into his own account.

2nd report i had where my own account had 2 items of stock loaded into it that i hadn't added? but since this nothing unusual has happened

3rd (today) a staff member has reported that all of her stock has been deleted?

Now this admin has been running for 9 months and we have only had 3 issues but when i try and recreate them it works fine?

Any ideas ???

It cant be a hacker because they would wipe everything and we also have a ip checker that makes sure the requesting ip address is in our database of allowed ips.

It could be a member of staff being a pain in the ass ... but then how does that explain the 1st email i had?

Only thing i can think of is that 99% of the staff all are on the same ip address? would this cause a problem if 2 people logged in at excatly the same time?