1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Secure Encryption ... best practice

Discussion in 'PHP' started by stephan2307, Feb 26, 2021.

I am just working on a project that will store personal information.

Passwords are already hashed, but I would like to encrypt the personal information as well in order to boost confidence.

I have never done this before. I read up on a few articles but I was wondering what people suggest here, their experiences and best practices.

Thanks

stephan2307, Feb 26, 2021 IP
  2. Efetobor Agbontaen

Efetobor Agbontaen Active Member

Best Answers:
    Here is my opinion on this:
    If the data is not as sensitive as a Password/Credit card info, or if you are not designing an App that has to do with money or National security, there's no need to encrypt personal information. Personal Information is public enough.

But if you have to encrypt the info so that a rouge sysadmin for example cannot view the data, I think the encryption/decryption should be done on the client side. Doing it on the server means at one point or the order, the server gets the plain text right? You can't guarantee the plain text isn't dumped in some log file or that the rouge sys admin can't write a script to dump it in the log file. So I think client side encryption is the way to go (Personal info only). With this your users will be really confident that only them truly has access to their data

Efetobor Agbontaen, Feb 27, 2021 IP
    JEET likes this.
  3. JEET

JEET Notable Member

Best Answers:
    What all kind of info do you want to encrypt?