1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Screenshots how to: jazz up a links page

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by Dominic, Sep 5, 2004.

  1. #1
    I'm posting this because I wish I knew how to do it earlier. Maybe it will be of use to you (especially if your the less technical type like me).
    SEMrush
    See the example here where I have called on thumbshots where they are available, or created the screenshot myself.

    Like this:
    [​IMG]

    Well - it's pretty easy, you just:
    1. go to the page you want a screen shot of
    2. press: CTRL + Print Screen
    3. open a pictures / images program like fireworks
    4. press CTRL + v
    5. resize the image to suit
    6. save and use in your links page

    Of course you can make the screenshots whatever size you want.

    Personally I think it adds a percieved value when exchanging links (and true value if you also link the image with alt text during the exchange.

    This is probably on the 'oh my god that is so basic' list for a lot of forum readers who are more technical than me, but - well, hopefully there is someone out there who like me thinks 'shit! thats cool, never knew how to do that!!!' :p

    Like it?

    PS if your not a coach but want a link exchange check out these options.
     
    Dominic, Sep 5, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. leo

    leo Peon

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Hi Dominic!

    I like the thumbshot-links of your website indeed. You could even save the effort of making pictures, resizing them etc. by using the thumbshots provided by thumbshot.org for all DMOZ-listed URLs. E.g. if you insert the following in the body of a HTML-page you will get an example with a clickable thumbshot of my webpage:

    <br>this is a Thumbshot-Test <a href="http://www.meincoach.at/" target=" ">
    <img src="http://open.thumbshots.org/image.pxf?url=http://www.meincoach.at/" border="0" onload="if (this.width>50) this.border=1" alt="Preview by Thumbshots">
    </a>
    <br>

    Found this long time ago somewhere at the thumbshot-page.

    Have a nice day.
     
    leo, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  3. Dominic

    Dominic Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,725
    Likes Received:
    121
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #3
    Hey Leo - yes the thumbshots have been available for some time, but they only work for pages listed in DMOZ - so quite a few 'handmade' screen shots were needed in this case as only half those needing links were listed in dmoz.
     
    Dominic, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  4. leo

    leo Peon

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Yeah, that's true.
     
    leo, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  5. vinyl

    vinyl Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #5
    thumbshots.org isnt the only source for thumbs... theres alexa, msn and certanly more of them not limited to DMOZ-only sites.

    http://msnsearch.srv.girafa.com/srv/i?s=MSNSEARCH&r=[B][COLOR=Red]URL[/COLOR][/B]
    Code (markup):
    http://thumbnails.alexa.com/image_server.cgi?size=small&url=[B][COLOR=Red]URL[/COLOR][/B]
    Code (markup):
    http://thumbnails.alexa.com/image_server.cgi?size=big&url=[B][COLOR=Red]URL[/COLOR][/B]
    Code (markup):
    If you have small amount of websites youd like to present graphically in custom thumb design OR you want to make thumbs of some barely known pages manual approach is the only way...
     
    vinyl, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  6. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #6
    I didn't know how to do that. Thanks. How do you get just the screen though. When I do that I get the brower too.
     
    ResaleBroker, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  7. NewComputer

    NewComputer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    68
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    188
    #7
    D, you would be totally amazed at how many people you just helped. There is no such thing as common sense on the internet, so things that someone thinks are simple or trivial, others have no idea how to do.

    I knew though ;)
     
    NewComputer, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  8. Dominic

    Dominic Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,725
    Likes Received:
    121
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #8
    When you paste the image into fireworks (or similar) only slice (the green bit) the part of the picture you want.

    [​IMG]


    NewComputer - cheers, btw - when I searched for 'how the frig do i do a cool little screenshot for my site' on google I must say I was disapointed with the results...
     
    Dominic, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  9. kepa

    kepa Peon

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    SnagIt is good too.
     
    kepa, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  10. melaniejk

    melaniejk Peon

    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Wow, I always wanted to know how to get a small screenshot of my web site.
    Thanks.

    Darn, all those places have an old screen shot of my web site or none at all.
    Guess, I'll need to wait a bit for them to get the new design.
     
    melaniejk, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  11. vinyl

    vinyl Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #11
    vinyl, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  12. david_sakh

    david_sakh Peon

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    OMG - i really thought everyone knew this. :D

    Maybe's it's because I always have to take screenshots of my appilcations while they are running. Printscreen usually works in most instances, as long as everything is drawn on the screen in a single frame.
     
    david_sakh, Sep 8, 2004 IP