1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Safari on Windows!!

Discussion in 'CSS' started by AdamSee, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. #1
    AdamSee, Jun 11, 2007 IP
    drpepper likes this.
    SEMrush
  2. Mooseman

    Mooseman Peon

    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Can't get it to work on my computer somehow.. :(
     
    Mooseman, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  3. Katy

    Katy Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    512
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    355
    #3
    Downloading...... Thanks for sharing!
     
    Katy, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  4. jmafonseca

    jmafonseca Peon

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I have just installed it and I am simply appalled because my CSS doesn't seem to work and all my text is invisible...

    Anyone else have a problem with this? Not that it's a problem, over 90% of my visitors still use some version of IE...
     
    jmafonseca, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  5. Dan Schulz

    Dan Schulz Peon

    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    434
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I was just about to post this, Adam!

    If you already have Quicktime installed on your PC, do not download the version of Safari with it. Just grab the 8MB installer (thanks go out to vgarcia on SitePoint for that tip).
     
    Dan Schulz, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  6. Dan Schulz

    Dan Schulz Peon

    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    434
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Remember folks, this is a BETA. This is the perfect opportunity to find the bugs and get them in to Apple so they can make this the best product they can (it doesn't have to BE the best, but it does have to WORK).

    And remember what I've said since last November - dont' test in browsers; test in rendering engines. Have fun, enjoy, and keep your arms and legs inside the vehicle and nobody will get hurt.
     
    Dan Schulz, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  7. Katy

    Katy Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    512
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    355
    #7
    Does it work on your comp, Dan? Cos it doesn't work on mine..
     
    Katy, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  8. Dan Schulz

    Dan Schulz Peon

    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    434
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I wouldn't know. I'm not at home right now. Anyway, what are you using? XP or Vista?
     
    Dan Schulz, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  9. Dan Schulz

    Dan Schulz Peon

    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    434
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Sorry for the threadjacking, but run a quick Google search for KDE 4.0 on Windows - looks like Konqueror may be climbing aboard the Windows bandwagon as well. :)
     
    Dan Schulz, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  10. crazyryan

    crazyryan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    165
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    175
    #10
    crazyryan, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  11. Katy

    Katy Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    512
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    355
    #11
    I'm using Windows XP.

    Which version did you download, crazyryan?
     
    Katy, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  12. PadraigCurran

    PadraigCurran Peon

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I love Firefox too much to change!:D
     
    PadraigCurran, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  13. crazyryan

    crazyryan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    165
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    175
    #13
    The version without quicktime. Windows XP Home Edition here. Are you sure you meet the minimum specification requirements?
     
    crazyryan, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  14. Katy

    Katy Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    512
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    355
    #14
    Well, I'm not great at all this computer stuff.. I have 38,5 Gb free space on my C drive and I'm using Windows XP. I'm not sure about the processor, though. Is there a way to find that out? :)

    Thanks!
     
    Katy, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  15. LeetPCUser

    LeetPCUser Peon

    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    14
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I saw that. I am completely leaving that out of things to test. Anyone who runs Safari on the PC is dumb, imho.
     
    LeetPCUser, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  16. Dan Schulz

    Dan Schulz Peon

    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    434
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Katy, right-click on "My Computer" and it'll give you a rundown of what your processor and memory are.

    LeetPCUser - I've said it a thousand times, I'll say it again. It's a best practice to test against each of the four major rendering engines (Trident, Gecko, Presto, KHTML/WebKit) as you develop your site. Don't worry too much about the browser.

    If you test against IE and/or FF only, you're leaving out a HUGE portion of alternate browser users who won't even bother coming back to your site.

    Not only that, but testing in the four engines can make you a better coder (if you do it enough). Just food for thought. :)
     
    Dan Schulz, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  17. Katy

    Katy Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    512
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    355
    #17
    Ah, thank you Dan! :) It says my processor is AMD Sempron(mt) Processor 3000+ 1,81 Ghz

    Hmm..
     
    Katy, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  18. Dan Schulz

    Dan Schulz Peon

    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    434
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Is that an A64 Sempron or XP Sempron?
     
    Dan Schulz, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  19. login

    login Notable Member

    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    349
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #19
    My friend use mac and he have problems with Safari. Better use FF.
     
    login, Jun 11, 2007 IP
  20. Katy

    Katy Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    512
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    355
    #20
    No idea.. It doesn't say anything about it..
     
    Katy, Jun 11, 2007 IP