1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Running Adsense on Test Mode while Testing your site

Discussion in 'AdSense' started by thilak, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. #1
    We all know that Adsense doesn’t like inflating impressions or clicking our own ads, but sometime while testing our websites, it become absolutely necessary. At the same time, we don’t want to risk our Adsense account for any invalid activity, So here is a piece of simple solution to this problem, Just add google_adtest = ‘on’; to your ad code.

    Read more
     
    thilak, Oct 3, 2006 IP
    check and Chios like this.
  2. check

    check Guest

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Great! Thanks, that is extremely useful.
     
    check, Oct 3, 2006 IP
  3. thilak

    thilak Active Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #3
    No problems
     
    thilak, Oct 3, 2006 IP
  4. BIGC

    BIGC Peon

    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I never heard of it .. Thanks for sharing it
     
    BIGC, Oct 3, 2006 IP
  5. thilak

    thilak Active Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #5
    No worries
     
    thilak, Oct 3, 2006 IP
  6. angellica2017

    angellica2017 Peon

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    angellica2017, Oct 4, 2006 IP
  7. livingingermany

    livingingermany Active Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #7
    Great share! Thanks!

    I had heard about the test pub code that you could use but I always thought that you had to email google to get permission to use that. But this code is clear and easy to use/substitute. Perhaps module writers for CMS's can include this as an option. Saves me bothering with my IP block code so that I don't see my ads.
     
    livingingermany, Oct 4, 2006 IP
  8. rahulm

    rahulm Peon

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I think Google’s Policies doesn’t allow this ........its against TOS of google :rolleyes:
     
    rahulm, Oct 5, 2006 IP
  9. Ratbert

    Ratbert Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    #9
    And for it not to register on your stats:
    google_adtest = "on";
    google_ad_client = "ca-test";
    google_ad_channel = "";
    Code (markup):
     
    Ratbert, Oct 5, 2006 IP
  10. MarketingInstitute

    MarketingInstitute Peon

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Is that allowed? Isn't it a violation of Google's TOS to modify the code?
     
    MarketingInstitute, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  11. livingingermany

    livingingermany Active Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #11
    Good point, they do tell you not to modify the code in "any" way.
     
    livingingermany, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  12. DLGx

    DLGx Active Member

    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #12
    I believe that you should let people know where you get your info from, since that is copied from my blog
     
    DLGx, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  13. angellica2017

    angellica2017 Peon

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    LOL your blog? where'd you got it?
     
    angellica2017, Oct 11, 2006 IP
  14. jackslounge

    jackslounge Peon

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I'd profer it if they just let you block ads for your IP. I know it can be done at my end, but... How hard could it be? All the hit counters can do it, surely google can too :)
     
    jackslounge, Oct 11, 2006 IP
  15. sterlite

    sterlite Peon

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    yes, all of Thilak's posts are a complete rip-off other's work and that Content-Theif does not even link to the original post

    Such people should be banned from the Internet and have their splogs shut down forever! :mad:
     
    sterlite, Oct 12, 2006 IP
  16. saadahmed007

    saadahmed007 Admínistratör

    Messages:
    5,272
    Likes Received:
    869
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    380
    #16
    Well
    Thanks for the info it's really usefull becuase sometimes we click ads by mistake even we dont want to.
    Saad
     
    saadahmed007, Oct 12, 2006 IP
  17. TheSyndicate

    TheSyndicate Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,394
    Likes Received:
    289
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    365
    #17
    TheSyndicate, Oct 12, 2006 IP
  18. DLGx

    DLGx Active Member

    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #18
    Me? Adsense support some two or three months ago.
     
    DLGx, Oct 12, 2006 IP
  19. flizz

    flizz Peon

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    I think that stuff is original.. BTW why are you flamming on him ??
     
    flizz, Oct 12, 2006 IP
  20. DLGx

    DLGx Active Member

    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #20
    People flaming because it's not original :p
     
    DLGx, Oct 12, 2006 IP