1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Robots.txt and Sitemaps ????plz help

Discussion in 'Google API' started by dummydam, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. #1
    i submitted my sitemaps to google yesterday, and today i got a error message that say
    We encountered an error while trying to access your Sitemap. Please ensure your Sitemap follows our guidelines and can be accessed at the location you provided and then resubmit.
    SEMrush
    i build my sitemaps with XML SITEMAP Genrator,

    why is i got this error ??????

    and is my ROBOTS.txt file is right ?
    http://www.totalsportsmadness.com/robots.txt

    this is what my ROBOT.txt

    User-agent: *
    Disallow:

    Sitemap: http://www.totalsportsmadness.com/sitemap.xml
     
    dummydam, Oct 11, 2009 IP
    SEMrush
  2. alfredwinston

    alfredwinston Peon

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    You can cross check the sitemap by creating it in any other sitemap generating tool & try submitting again.
     
    alfredwinston, Oct 11, 2009 IP
  3. dummydam

    dummydam Member

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    #3
    dummydam, Oct 12, 2009 IP
  4. whiteeaglet

    whiteeaglet Peon

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I think you have to disallow pages that require logging in. When bot comes to your site, it will ignore that disallow. Thus, it will help you to avoid error.
     
    whiteeaglet, Nov 2, 2009 IP
  5. Denver SEO

    Denver SEO Peon

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I know this is an older problem, and I noticed that you have corrected the issue. The question I have is, how did you fix it? Did the wordpress plugin for the sitemap you created fix the issue? Were you using that plug in previously when you originally posted or created this thread?
     
    Denver SEO, Nov 5, 2009 IP
  6. dummydam

    dummydam Member

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    #6
    hey there,
    yeah i have successfully corrected the issue, if u have the same problem please let the google crawl your site.....it might take several weeks so be patient Google is quite intelligent ......they will do it for ya......
     
    dummydam, Nov 21, 2009 IP
  7. cleverliving

    cleverliving Peon

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    i keep getting errors with my robot.txt and cant figure out how to fix it
     
    cleverliving, Nov 28, 2009 IP
  8. gabblet

    gabblet Peon

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    What error you getting?
     
    gabblet, Nov 28, 2009 IP
  9. kelvinblogger

    kelvinblogger Active Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #9
    same with me i have resubmit and it success..
     
    kelvinblogger, Nov 29, 2009 IP
  10. boymc

    boymc Peon

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    You can see the example of robot.txt in Google Webmaster
     
    boymc, Nov 29, 2009 IP