1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Responsive Ads in XenForo 1.2

Discussion in 'Digital Point Ads' started by David Delaney, Aug 30, 2013.

  1. #1
    Hi,

    I wish to use Digital Point ads on my site which is a forum (XenForo 1.2).

    The ads I have currently are AdSense responsive ads. When I try to set up a Digital Point Ad, I am asked to specify a size.

    What is the best way to use DP with responsive ads?
    David Delaney, Aug 30, 2013 IP
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #2
    Well, in theory you could have a few different ads and then deliver them based on JavaScript that looks at window size... But an easier way to handle responsive sizes is being worked on.
    digitalpoint, Aug 30, 2013 IP
  3. David Delaney

    David Delaney Greenhorn

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    #3
    That's great news. I'll definitely pop back and give the system a try once that's up and running - looking forward to it!

    PS I also found it hard to categorise my site from the drop down list. It is a general forum/discussion board on any subject. Any suggestions?
    David Delaney, Aug 31, 2013 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #4
    You can request a new category if there is one better suited.
    digitalpoint, Aug 31, 2013 IP
  5. BlastLTD

    BlastLTD Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #5
    Wanted to try out the DP ads system and ran into he same issue. I was thinking of just creating 2 different size dp ads with he same exact adsense fallback ad since it will adjunct to size anyway. Not sure though and i think ill just end up making a mess with all this. Any eta on the easier way to handle responsive ads update?

    Thanks!
    BlastLTD, Sep 28, 2013 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #6
    No sorry, there isn't an eta yet for native responsive support.
    digitalpoint, Sep 28, 2013 IP
  7. BlastLTD

    BlastLTD Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #7
    I decided to give the DPAds a try in combination with Google as a fallback.

    What I would like to do is have 1 or 2 different ad sizes in one place (based on screen size) and then if the screen width does not meet those requirements, I would not want to show anything there and rather show a 3rd ad type in a totally different p[lace on the page. Would placing the following 2 codes work correctly and not go agings any of the Google or DP ad placing policies?


    -Code 1-
    <script type="text/javascript">
    width = document.documentElement.clientWidth;
    if (width > 483) {
    DigitalPointAdCode1
    }
    if (width > 743) {
    DigitalPointAdCode2
    }
    </script>

    -Code 2-
    <script type="text/javascript">
    width = document.documentElement.clientWidth;
    if (width < 483) {
    DigitalPointAdCode3
    }
    </script>


    BTW, how does this work with screen resizing or chnage of orientation on device after the fact that the page has already loaded?

    Thanks!
    BlastLTD, Sep 29, 2013 IP
  8. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #8
    That should work, and doesn't violate our terms. It won't resize after the fact, but neither does Google, so probably a bit of a moot situation anyway if you are falling back to AdSense.
    digitalpoint, Sep 29, 2013 IP
  9. BlastLTD

    BlastLTD Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #9
    Cool. How does the dynamic ad resizing work on here?

    BTW, the floating navbar onhere using mobile is pretty awesome)
    BlastLTD, Sep 29, 2013 IP
  10. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #10
    It doesn't resize ads here either (not after the fact anyway).
    digitalpoint, Sep 29, 2013 IP
  11. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #11
    digitalpoint, Feb 13, 2014 IP