1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Refresh parent page keep current URL intact

Discussion in 'JavaScript' started by TrafficRider, Aug 18, 2010.

I'm a total js newbie but I have the feeling that this can be done easily.

I have a pop-up iframe. What I want to do is automatically refresh its parent window. No problem there and I was able to do it with this simple code:
    <body onload="parent.location.reload(2)">
    Code (markup):
    Now my dilemma is that when it refreshes its redirecting back the user to the homepage. I don't wanna do that. I want the current URL/destination to be preserved. I was able to achieve this via the onclick event with <a href...>. But how do you do I do it in my case with the onload event? I want it to be done automatically.

I would really appreciate anyone shedding some light over me. Thank you.

TrafficRider, Aug 18, 2010 IP
  2. Thorlax402

Thorlax402 Member

Best Answers:
    The trick here is ajax. Anytime you want to refresh part of a page but not all of it, ajax is the way to go. You will need to figure out which part of the page you want to refresh (sounds like everything except the frame) and update all of that content.

Developing the actual code for that might be a little time consuming, but it should be do-able.

Thorlax402, Aug 18, 2010 IP
  3. TrafficRider

TrafficRider Active Member

Best Answers: