1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Redirect Script with Referrer Spoofing Required.

Discussion in 'C#' started by NotFound, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. #1
    Looking for a script doing the following:

    Let's say I have a link on www.container.ext. The link connects to www.link.ext/link.php?ID=123. There is an array in link.php contains a list of URLs that I want the script to redirect to. There should be another array of referrers that I want to spoof the destination site with. When a visitor clicks the link on www.container.ext, s/he will be redirected to www.target.ext with a whatever referrer I want.

    I don't mind paying for it. Please let me know your price.

    Budget: $40.

    Please PM me.
     
    NotFound, Nov 17, 2008 IP
  2. camjohnson95

    camjohnson95 Active Member

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #2
    camjohnson95, Nov 17, 2008 IP
  3. NotFound

    NotFound Peon

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Either one.
    I don't want META REFRESH or <?php header("location: http://www.whatever.ext"); ?>.
     
    NotFound, Nov 17, 2008 IP
  4. U-BotDev

    U-BotDev Peon

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    you can't spoof the referrer per se. the browser sets the referer variable. there are a couple ways to trick it, but not so that you can just make it whatever you want. what you can do is set the referrer to any url that you own.
     
    U-BotDev, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  5. camjohnson95

    camjohnson95 Active Member

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #5
    What you want can be done. I've PMed you.
     
    camjohnson95, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  6. NotFound

    NotFound Peon

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I know what I'm looking for.
    It can be done through <?php header("location: http://www.whatever.ext"); ?>.
    However, I don't want to use this method.
     
    NotFound, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  7. JackDuluoz

    JackDuluoz Peon

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    How can you set a referer through the header() method? The referer is set by the browser, if you redirect the users with that method the referer will be the page link.php?id=231.
    Well, if I'm missing something and you can really do it can you explain how?
    I was trying to do the same thing but ended up resolving nothing. Thanks
     
    JackDuluoz, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  8. NotFound

    NotFound Peon

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    One method is PHP rewrite, but I can't get too far with it.
     
    NotFound, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  9. NotFound

    NotFound Peon

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    http://us.php.net/header
     
    NotFound, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  10. JackDuluoz

    JackDuluoz Peon

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    If you are speaking about using a code like this one:

    <?php
    header("Referer: http://www.site1.com");
    header("Referer: http://www.site2.com");
    ?>
    Code (markup):
    I am sure it doesn't work. The referer is set by the client's browser and not by the web server. Anyway I'm OT here (sorry). Good bye
     
    JackDuluoz, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  11. NotFound

    NotFound Peon

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    This has been done in ASP.net and PHP.
    Even a Microsoft tech posted a ASP.net code to warn coders not to rely on referrer.
    I haven't studied ASP.net, so I can't take advantage of it.
    It's been a while, but I will post the code once I find it. Hopefully someone can guide me through.
     
    NotFound, Nov 18, 2008 IP
  12. camjohnson95

    camjohnson95 Active Member

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #12
    The referrer can be set when loading the page via an HTTPRequest. But this can lead to the page not displaying proper (and the users browser URL remains on the original URL, as the requested location is loaded by the server).
    If you then Redirect after doing this the referral will be blank, but the requested page should still receive a hit from the referring URL of that you set on the first request.

    In theory anyway...
     
    camjohnson95, Nov 19, 2008 IP
  13. camjohnson95

    camjohnson95 Active Member

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #13
    It depends on what you need it for...
     
    camjohnson95, Nov 19, 2008 IP
  14. vbrocks

    vbrocks Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    #14
    It is always very interesting to read those 'referrer spoof' discussions.... whether people do not know anything about the subject... or know a lot and just play 'noobs'.
    I actually tried the httprequest method in both asp.net and php. For php you can find a bunch of those so-called php proxy scripts and this will give you a great explanation how the process works. The problem with that is all clients will hit the destination site from one ip address only, this will be your server's ip. What is even worse, the user-agent will be the same for all visitors, unless you bother to preserve and copy the visitor's user-agent. Still, this will look weird in the target site logs. Doing the same thing in asp.net gives the same results, it's just a little harder to implement than php.
    But... As i heard, there is another method that actually works... it is however less comprehensible that the httprequest.. And as i heard it costs much more than forty bucks.
     
    vbrocks, Nov 27, 2008 IP
  15. camjohnson95

    camjohnson95 Active Member

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #15
    when using HTTP request you can actualy change the value of the Referer (in the headers) to anything you want. But the page will not display properly if relative paths (to links/images/stylesheets etc.) are used in the HTML of the target page. You could get around this but not all that easily.
     
    camjohnson95, Nov 29, 2008 IP