1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Rank => hits: statistics?

Discussion in 'Products & Tools' started by wolfpack, Apr 10, 2004.

Hi,

I'm new to ranking / SEO.

Is there anywhere where there's statistics on how search engine click-thru drops off with increasing rank? ie, how many more hits can I expect if I move from 9 to 8, or from 17 to 16, or from 3 to 2?

The (extremely useful - thanks!) tools on this site, plus my own hit counts, have allowed me to generate a few data points, but not enough to be particularly meaningful.

Say I take the number of hits that came to me from google searches for "xyz", and divide that by, e.g., wordtracker's daily hits for "xyz", and call that percentage my cut of the pie. If I do that for a bunch of xyz's and plot them against my ranks for those search terms, I get a curve that represents how my cut changes with rank.

As I say, I only have a few data points, but what if we pooled them? Maybe we could get to some statistically significant numbers that would be useful to all of us?

I'd put up mine if others would put up theirs. If you're worried about privacy, I don't need the site or even what the search term was, just the numbers.

Interesed?
    SEMrush

wolfpack, Apr 10, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. ephricon

ephricon Peon

Best Answers:
    I take a much less scientific approach, but have found myself that there is not a huge noticeable difference between ranking say 6 versus 7 for a given term. Indeed, small movements in Google (and others) may change by the day, if not more frequently. Instead, I'll pose the following:

- its "better" to be on the first page (top 10) than the second page
    - its "better" to be top 5 than 6-10