1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

random colors

Discussion in 'AdSense' started by jeremy860, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. #1
    I tried that little random ad colors feature that adsence has and it doubled by CTR overnight. anyone else have good luck with this? this seems to be a feature that many overlook
     
    jeremy860, Jun 8, 2005 IP
  2. Henny

    Henny Peon

    Messages:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    241
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    You know, I should go back to that, it really does work quite well. I have had a dip since I went with the background color match, I think I will go back to random and report back next week.
     
    Henny, Jun 8, 2005 IP
  3. jumble

    jumble Peon

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    You know would like to do the same thing. The main problem with random colors that I found was that if you had more than one ad on a page, for any given page view, there was a high likelihood that the different ad units would appear in different colors. So you might have a red ad block next to a blue ad block next to a yellow ad block! This made the sites look clumsy and unprofessional. Is there any way of preventing this "color jumbling" from occuring? :)
     
    jumble, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  4. bluegill_catcher

    bluegill_catcher Active Member

    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    22
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #4
    It made my C** drop quite a bit, seems on a site that has a white background with black text, the adsense does best looking the same as the content, blended.

    When I tried the colored adsense, the stats dropped a lot.
     
    bluegill_catcher, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  5. jnm

    jnm Guest

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5

    if i were doing this using PHP, i would add the randomization code using an include to get the colors and then use the same color variables in each ad block.

    for the include:
    <?
    // google color rotator
    // original with blue link
    $ad_color[0] = "CC9900 FFFFCC 0099CC CC9900 666600";
    // tan background
    $ad_color[1] = "CC9900 FFFFCC 996600 666600 CC9900";
    // white background
    $ad_color[2] = "FFFFFF FFFFFF 006699 006699 663300";
    // red link blue background
    $ad_color[3] = "99CCFF E5F2FF FF0000 6633CC 3399FF";
      srand ((double) microtime() * 1000000);
      $random_number1 = rand(0,count($ad_color)-1);
    $ad_color_picked = $ad_color[$random_number1];
    ?>
    Code (markup):
    for the adsense code:
    
    <script type="text/javascript"><!--
    google_ad_client = "pub-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX";
    google_ad_width = 120;
    google_ad_height = 240;
    google_ad_format = "120x240_as";
    google_ad_channel ="XXXXXXXXXX";
    google_ad_type = "text";
    <?
    $ad_colors = explode(' ',$ad_color_picked);
    ?>
    google_color_border = "<? echo "$ad_colors[0]"; ?>";
    google_color_bg = "<? echo "$ad_colors[1]"; ?>";
    google_color_link = "<? echo "$ad_colors[2]"; ?>";
    google_color_url = "<? echo "$ad_colors[3]"; ?>";
    google_color_text = "<? echo "$ad_colors[4]"; ?>";
    --></script>
                      <script type="text/javascript"
      src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
    </script>
    
    Code (markup):
    justin
     
    jnm, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  6. piniyini

    piniyini Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #6
    piniyini, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  7. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,604
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #7

    This would be more than enough for Google to kick you out.
     
    fryman, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  8. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #8
    Why do you say that? You aren't changing the JavaScript...
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  9. jnm

    jnm Guest

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    yeah, what he said ;)
     
    jnm, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  10. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,604
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #10
    What do you mean? He is adding a whole bunch of stuff that doesn't come in the original code provided by adsense
     
    fryman, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  11. jnm

    jnm Guest

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    how do you think client IDs are rotated on this forum for the adsense rev share? if you notice where you have the option to participate, you can only add your client ID and channel, so those two variables have to be entered dynamically into the Adsense code.
     
    jnm, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  12. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,604
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #12
    That's my point, doesn't the " have to be entered dynamically into the Adsense code" part mean that you are actually changing the code? Meaning that you are violating the TOS?
     
    fryman, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  13. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #13
    You aren't changing the actual code though. You are just using a mechanism to generate the code. As long as the code delivered to the end user is the same, it's fine.
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 12, 2005 IP
  14. jumble

    jumble Peon

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    thanks very much for the php code jnm and piniyini!

    cheers :)
     
    jumble, Jun 14, 2005 IP
  15. tlainevool

    tlainevool Guest

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    52
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I agree. If your using PHP to do this it would be impossible for Google to even know that you are generating the code dynamically. If you really feel strongly about it you could always do something like this:

    $random = rand(0,2);
    switch( $random )
    case 0:
    /* Insert Google code for color 1 */
    break;
    case 1:
    /* Insert Google code for color 2 */
    case 2:
    /* Insert Google code for color 3 */
    }
     
    tlainevool, Jun 14, 2005 IP
  16. bluegill_catcher

    bluegill_catcher Active Member

    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    22
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #16
    Ive tried the random colors, and other things to make the adsense stand out, believe me the more they stand out the less they do, it's like a flashing sign that says 'hey click me I am an ad'.... nobody clicks.

    But if you keep it blended and kinda obsqure, it's like the sign that says: 'Don't look under here !'
    Everyone looks........
     
    bluegill_catcher, Jun 14, 2005 IP