1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Pure CSS Horizontal Menu Bar

Discussion in 'CSS' started by Danielc1234, Mar 27, 2006.

  1. #1
    Hi, I'm new to the tread and had a question. Is there a CSS menu bar that can emulate a javascript menu bar that we are using now. You can see it at http://www.precious-pets-paradise.com . It uses images as the to level and opens with a fade effect and has three levels. Does anyone know if this can be accomplished in CSS? My javascript menu bar is causing a lot of problems for us and I would like another alternative and someone mentioned that CSS would be the route to go. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance...Daniel

    http://www.precious-pets-paradise.com
     
    Danielc1234, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  2. iatbm

    iatbm Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    353
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #2
    iatbm, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  3. iatbm

    iatbm Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    353
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #3
    iatbm, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  4. Danielc1234

    Danielc1234 Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    this is what you need ... it will fit nice to your site i think
    http://phoenity.com/newtedge/horizontal_nav/

    ?? I cant see the menu bar example, its only showing a line item look to it?
     
    Danielc1234, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  5. iatbm

    iatbm Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    353
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #5

    look at the menu !

    it is there ... that is example
     

    Attached Files:

    • joj.JPG
      joj.JPG
      File size:
      62 KB
      Views:
      23,249
    iatbm, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  6. iatbm

    iatbm Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    353
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #6
    exactly the same function as that javascript on your site
     
    iatbm, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  7. Danielc1234

    Danielc1234 Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I see it now, my IE browsers will not display it, I had to use Mozilla. Would there be a way to use images as the top menu and how would I add another level? Thanks for your help.
     
    Danielc1234, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  8. mjewel

    mjewel Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,693
    Likes Received:
    513
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #8
    You would need to add an javascript action for it to work in ie.

    Microsoft decided to implement the :hover pseudo-class for A elements only. That's the reason the menu won't work in any IE browser (there is missing the LI:hover trigger to start the action).
     
    mjewel, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  9. Danielc1234

    Danielc1234 Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    If you look at my site, 'http://www.precious-pets-paradise.com' and look at what my menu bar is doing, can you recommend where I might be able to find on that does the same thing as mine? I'm trying to get away from the javascript menu bar that were using..Thanks
     
    Danielc1234, Mar 27, 2006 IP
  10. iatbm

    iatbm Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    353
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310