1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Proxy Site Bandwidth Usage

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by Will.Spencer, Apr 30, 2006.

  1. #1
    I keep thinking about adding an anonymous web proxy script to one of my existing web sites.

    Does anyone have reliable data on the bandwidth usage of a web proxy script?

    Am I looking at 5KB per visitor or 5MB per visitor?

    THANKS!
    Will.Spencer, Apr 30, 2006 IP
    GTech likes this.
  2. LuffE

    LuffE Guest

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Well ive only had my proxy site for 8 hours.

    240 Unique / 89.25 MB Bandwith

    348.73 KB/ Per visitor

    Accordig to AWstats. .....

    ( A tip: Use gzip compression)
    Insert this in top of index.php

    <?php
    ob_start( 'ob_gzhandler' );
    ?>


    Will save you some BW and make site load fast:)

    LuffE
    LuffE, Apr 30, 2006 IP
  3. Mong

    Mong ↓↘→ horsePower

    Messages:
    4,773
    Likes Received:
    730
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #3
    Little off topic but i am interested in proxy scripts.
    What kind of these websites are actually?
    Mong, May 1, 2006 IP
  4. LuffE

    LuffE Guest

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    LuffE, May 1, 2006 IP
    Mong likes this.
  5. Will.Spencer

    Will.Spencer NetBuilder

    Messages:
    14,789
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    375
    #5
    What are the reasons why you would recommend PHProxy over CGIProxy?
    Will.Spencer, May 1, 2006 IP
  6. iBold

    iBold Peon

    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    My largest proxy doesn't use much bandwidth at all..not sure why others do.
    Today I served about 160k pageviews to about 1k visitors, only used 17mb. It's not so much the bandwidth you have to worry about, it's the processing power. Two of my proxies (which have peak hours during working hours in the US) take up almost an entire dual xeon 3.0 box with 2gb ram.

    From my (limited) understanding, phproxy is much lighter on the server load but lacks some of the features of CGIProxy (I don't think you can use forms at all with phproxy, ie no using a login box)
    iBold, May 1, 2006 IP
  7. browntwn

    browntwn Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,305
    Likes Received:
    831
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    385
    #7
    Hopefully a related proxy question. I too am considering adding one.

    I have noticed on my sites, they are sometimes viewed with a proxy. When I check to see how my site looks, I notice all my iframe ads (let's say adultfriendfinder) are replaced with the proxy owners aduldff ads. Anyway, slightly annoying, but hey, if you can't beat em, join em. So is it that easy, I can get my ads to run on top of another sites ads by running a proxy site?

    Now, the bandwidth issue and my total lack of programming skills are the only other questions.
    browntwn, May 1, 2006 IP
  8. Will.Spencer

    Will.Spencer NetBuilder

    Messages:
    14,789
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    375
    #8
    I was thinking of putting a proxy server on one of my existing domains, when suddenly I realized that this would most likely get that entire site banned by WebSense, Smartfilter, etc...

    Luckily, new domains are cheap. I'll just register a throw-away domain if I want to put a web proxy online. :)
    Will.Spencer, May 1, 2006 IP
  9. iBold

    iBold Peon

    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    That is what I do :)

    In addition, replacing another webmasters ads seems kind of devient to me (I guess I draw the line at just running a proxy), but it of course can be done since you are serving up the content. My proxies allow you to filter out ads, but I do not replace them with my own ads...
    iBold, May 1, 2006 IP
  10. lappy512

    lappy512 Peon

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    blockmenot.com gets 8MB/visitor, that's over an average of 2k uniques/day
    lappy512, May 1, 2006 IP
  11. browntwn

    browntwn Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,305
    Likes Received:
    831
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    385
    #11
    My intent was to offer my surfers who are using a proxy..MY proxy. That way my ads still show on my sites.

    To me is seems that when someone visits my site with a proxy it looks like all my Iframe ads get blocked, either with an ad or the proxy menu. Either way, the proxies kill my ads.
    browntwn, May 1, 2006 IP
  12. lappy512

    lappy512 Peon

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I forgot, if you have a dedicated server, you have to double that, since Awstats only shows outbound traffic, but you do get inbound traffic when your server downloads the sites!
    lappy512, May 1, 2006 IP
  13. Will.Spencer

    Will.Spencer NetBuilder

    Messages:
    14,789
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    375
    #13
    Eight megabytes of outbound bandwidth per visitor? WOW.

    My current #1 site uses less than 10% of that much outbound bandwidth per visitor, and almost no incoming bandwidth.

    How do you make money with anonymous proxies?
    Will.Spencer, May 1, 2006 IP
  14. lappy512

    lappy512 Peon

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    lappy512, May 1, 2006 IP
  15. Mong

    Mong ↓↘→ horsePower

    Messages:
    4,773
    Likes Received:
    730
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #15
    What is the secret of so much less bandwidth usage ?

    And please tell me web hosts care about inbound traffic or not?
    Mong, May 1, 2006 IP
  16. lappy512

    lappy512 Peon

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Shared webhosts don't.

    VPS hosts might, and Dedicated server hosts most definitely will.
    lappy512, May 1, 2006 IP
  17. browntwn

    browntwn Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,305
    Likes Received:
    831
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    385
    #17
    First, your site looks good.

    Your adbite ads also look sweet on my site, they cover my adultff ads Seriously, I don't care. Good for you.

    Is PHProxy 0.4 hard to modify and place the ads?

    Thanks
    browntwn, May 1, 2006 IP
  18. lappy512

    lappy512 Peon

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Hmm...are your ads in frames? I never had problems with Google Ads being covered by the URL form or anything, and disable scripts is not enabled by default (on my server).

    PHProxy is fairly easy to modify. You can modify the URL form by editing an include file, and the main page is editable; it's a part in index.php.

    I find it easier than CGIProxy, but take that with a grain of salt since I code PHP.
    lappy512, May 1, 2006 IP
  19. theblight

    theblight Peon

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Bandwidth usage depends on your visitors that uses your proxy but in the average, expect to have more bandwith if your users are frequent visitor of social networks that has personalization of for it has multimedia.

    Technically:
    CGIProxy is much resource intensive but has the advantage of supporting more sites. And kinda bit difficult to configure and install

    While:

    PHPProxy is less resource intensive but is short of the sites supported. Also it is easily configurable than the latter. as all configurables were neatly compiled and placed on its respected folders.

    Hope it helps.
    theblight, May 2, 2006 IP
  20. Mong

    Mong ↓↘→ horsePower

    Messages:
    4,773
    Likes Received:
    730
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #20
    What kind of support is lacked in phproxy?
    Mong, May 2, 2006 IP