1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Prototype and window

Discussion in 'Programming' started by mustaineoz, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. #1
    I'm using prototype at my page.When i click the link,new window is opening but when i click the other link,same window is opening again.here is my code;

    <a href="#" onclick="dialog();">LINK1</a>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function dialog() {
    Dialog.alert({url: "aaa1.html", options: {method: 'get'}},
    {className: "alphacube", width:700, okLabel: "Close"});
    }
    WindowCloseKey.init();
    </script>
    <br><a href="#" onclick="dialog();">LINK2</a></center>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function dialog() {
    Dialog2.alert({url: "aaa2.html", options: {method: 'get'}},
    {className: "alphacube", width:700, okLabel: "Close"});
    }
    WindowCloseKey.init();
    </script>

    at both cases,aaa2.html is opening.Please help me with this!
     
    mustaineoz, Sep 14, 2007 IP
  2. TwistMyArm

    TwistMyArm Peon

    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    That would be because you've redefined your dialog function (essentially overwritten the first one with your second one).

    Normally, I would do something like:
    
    <a href="#" onclick="dialog('aaa1.html');">LINK1</a>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function dialog(url_to_display) {
    Dialog.alert({url: url_to_display, options: {method: 'get'}},
    {className: "alphacube", width:700, okLabel: "Close"});
    }
    WindowCloseKey.init();
    </script>
    <br><a href="#" onclick="dialog('aaa2.html');">LINK2</a></center>
    
    HTML:
    or something like that...
     
    TwistMyArm, Sep 14, 2007 IP
  3. mustaineoz

    mustaineoz Active Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #3
    twistmyarm thank you soo sooo sooo much,it is working now!!!
     
    mustaineoz, Sep 14, 2007 IP
  4. moondancer

    moondancer Peon

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Hi.
    I've got a similar problem, but... just cannot cope with it.

    while ($row= mysql_fetch_array($numresults)) {
    $id= $row["id"];
    $user = $row["user"];

    echo "<a href='#' onclick='dialog();'><strong>$id</strong> - <strong>$user</strong></a>";
    echo "<script type='text/javascript'>function dialog() {
    Dialog.alert({url: 'one.php?page=$id', options: {method: 'get'}}, {className: 'alphacube', width:560, okLabel: 'Close'});
    }
    </script>";

    $count++ ;
    }


    ... the only $id I GET as a result is its latest owned value. Defiantly, overwriting functions, but ... I just cannot solve the problem. Please, help me with this!
     
    moondancer, Sep 24, 2007 IP
  5. TwistMyArm

    TwistMyArm Peon

    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Pretty much the same answer as I gave mustaineoz... just move your dialog function out of the loop. Again this is untested code, so don't be surprised if it doesn't work exactly...

    
        echo "<script type='text/javascript'>function dialog(id_to_display) {
            Dialog.alert({url: 'one.php?page=' + id_to_display, options: {method: 'get'}}, {className: 'alphacube', width:560, okLabel: 'Close'});
    }
    </script>";
    while ($row= mysql_fetch_array($numresults)) {
        $id= $row["id"];
        $user = $row["user"];
    
        echo "<a href='#' onclick='dialog($id);'><strong>$id</strong> - <strong>$user</strong></a>";
    
        $count++ ;
    }
    
    PHP:
     
    TwistMyArm, Sep 24, 2007 IP
  6. moondancer

    moondancer Peon

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Thanks a lot. Really, a lot.
     
    moondancer, Sep 24, 2007 IP
  7. TwistMyArm

    TwistMyArm Peon

    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    OK, so I'm a little confused... does it work or not?
     
    TwistMyArm, Sep 24, 2007 IP
  8. moondancer

    moondancer Peon

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    It works perfectly. Thanks again!
     
    moondancer, Sep 25, 2007 IP