1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Protection from SQL Injection

Discussion in 'MySQL' started by kalius, May 9, 2005.

I couldn't find an SQL injectiong tread in DP so I think a good discussion of this would be helpfull for a lot of people .

Ok I'm a security consious noob in PHP/MYSQL, I have created a script that passes parameters in the url and other function that inserts the user input on a form in a database. My url parameters are either strings or integers and the form input is all text. From what I have found to protect my script I should do these things:

1) if magic quotes is on run strip slashes.
    2) if its an integer convert to integer type.
    3) if its a string replace <space>AND<space>, <space>OR<space, and all other sql commands with and empty string ( I think this would be good since my input shouln't contain these ).
    4) Remove special characters not needed like = and ; (any others?)
    5) use the sscape function for mysql.
    6) quote variables in the query string.​

Is all this a good solution? anything that I should eliminate because is redundant or not needed?

Any other php, mysql security tips are welcome.

kalius, May 9, 2005 IP
  2. J.D.

J.D. Peon

Best Answers:
    It makes no sense to try to catch all possible SQL combinations - there's just too many. Use regular expressions to validate your input (in some cases you can just use numeric conversions, just as you describe). Search for quotes in the input - most types of input are not supposed to have any. If you expect some, quote them properly (you can use e/preg_replace for this).