1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Problems with keywords for Inline Contextual Ads

Discussion in 'Digital Point Ads' started by cyman, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. #1
    Hi there,

    A week ago I created my first contextual ad here and added some keywords like psd to xhtml/css, psd to html/css etc. The problem is that the software automatically trims out the slash "/" character, so after I click save I see the kwds change to *testing - psdtohtmlcss* etc. I'd need psd to html/css as many people type in this phrase. Is there any hack around it? Like HTML entities or similar?

    Thanks in advance!
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
    cyman, Jan 2, 2012 IP
  2. cyman

    cyman Peon

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    OK, now you can see it in action above, I dont' want "psd-to-htmlcss" appear as link, but "psd to html/css".
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
    cyman, Jan 2, 2012 IP
  3. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,618
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #3
    Have you tried using a space instead of a slash by chance?
     
    digitalpoint, Jan 2, 2012 IP
  4. cyman

    cyman Peon

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Not yet, thanks for advice, I'll try it right away!
     
    cyman, Jan 2, 2012 IP
  5. cyman

    cyman Peon

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I'll use this post for testing, ok?

    PSD to HTML/CSS

    It seems it doesn't work.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
    cyman, Jan 2, 2012 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,618
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #6
    Hmmm... in that case, it's not going to work in it's current form. I suspect the regex is stripping out punctuation... Otherwise if someone wanted to link a word, it would not link if it was at the end of a sentence (if it was followed by a period). Or in the case of the previous sentence if someone wanted to highlight "period", but it was adjacent to ")" it wouldn't highlight.

    I'll see if it might be possible in a future version to allow an advertiser to override that behavior so it doesn't strip punctuation for them.
     
    digitalpoint, Jan 2, 2012 IP
  7. cyman

    cyman Peon

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Ok, thank you for answering. Anyhow, the regex should strip out just punctuations related to senteces - ,.!?;
    Other characters should be allowed: -/() etc.
     
    cyman, Jan 4, 2012 IP