1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Print Screen in Vista?

Discussion in 'Bing' started by chriswick, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. #1
    I've been trying to take a screenshots with Vista but with no luck the only thing that does anyting is alt + Prt Sc and that just forwards on your internet history or doesn't do anything too.

    Does anyone know what's going on, any help would be much appreiated! :)
    SEMrush
     
    chriswick, Feb 16, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. mrix

    mrix Active Member

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #2
    Why do you not use the default program which is " paint "
    Start the paint program then minimize it.... then press PrtScn on your keyboard which will send a screenshot to paint....
    then maximize the program paint again then press Ctrl button on your keyboard with the letter V and it will create the screenshot for you :)
    then at that point you can just save the screenshot to where ever you want.
    cheers
    mrix
     
    mrix, Feb 16, 2008 IP
  3. chriswick

    chriswick Peon

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    That didn't work either, thanks for you help though!
     
    chriswick, Feb 16, 2008 IP
  4. deluxdon

    deluxdon Catch Me If You Can...!!!™ Staff

    Messages:
    25,468
    Likes Received:
    1,940
    Best Answers:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #4
    Same problem here.

    Why don't you try to 'Print Preview' through your browser and then save it to your desktop as a file :confused:

    DON.
     
    deluxdon, Feb 16, 2008 IP
  5. chriswick

    chriswick Peon

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Because it doesn't give the option to save lol.
     
    chriswick, Feb 16, 2008 IP
  6. deluxdon

    deluxdon Catch Me If You Can...!!!™ Staff

    Messages:
    25,468
    Likes Received:
    1,940
    Best Answers:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #6
    Then print as a Microsoft XPS document writer and save it to your desktop.

    DON.
     
    deluxdon, Feb 16, 2008 IP
  7. chriswick

    chriswick Peon

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Ok thanks for everyones help, does anyone know the reason that Prt Sc isn't working in the first place? Is it a keyboard config problem or something?
     
    chriswick, Feb 16, 2008 IP
  8. Kaizoku

    Kaizoku Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #8
    Vista is for the looks not for the brains. It is too dumb to detect the print screen key on a non vista certified keyboard.
     
    Kaizoku, Feb 18, 2008 IP
  9. Dudleyswarehouse.com

    Dudleyswarehouse.com Banned

    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    last that i knew it was shift + print screen to take a snapshot....

    try that then paste it in paint and save it that way...

    :)
     
    Dudleyswarehouse.com, Feb 18, 2008 IP
  10. Harpreetrock

    Harpreetrock Banned

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    What I believe is to copy the entire screen u can Press PRINT SCREEN.
    and to copy only an active window "Press ALT+PRINT SCREEN."
     
    Harpreetrock, Feb 19, 2008 IP
  11. michael.aulia

    michael.aulia Active Member

    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #11
    STOPPPPPPPPPP

    Have you guys ever heard about Vista built-in tool called Snipping Tool? :)
    Start-> and then just type in "snip" on the search..enjoy!
     
    michael.aulia, Feb 19, 2008 IP
  12. proxywhereabouts

    proxywhereabouts Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    110
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    200
    #12
    Michael..thanks a lot..I know I've seen it before but forgot where it is.. lol
     
    proxywhereabouts, Feb 19, 2008 IP
  13. michael.aulia

    michael.aulia Active Member

    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #13
    lol it's ok :)
    I'll probably blog about this tomorrow, cause there may be other Vista users that don't know about this yet!
     
    michael.aulia, Feb 19, 2008 IP
  14. Diablos

    Diablos Guest

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Print Screen key works fine in my Vista, also as Michael says it has a special clipping tool program.
     
    Diablos, Feb 19, 2008 IP
  15. Yankee4Life

    Yankee4Life Peon

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Print Screen/SysRq >> Ctrl + V in Photoshop >> Save As
     
    Yankee4Life, Feb 19, 2008 IP
  16. colourstorm

    colourstorm Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Same problem here until i pressed "F Lock" to unlock the function keys!
    Must be the original problem!
    :)
     
    colourstorm, Sep 22, 2009 IP
  17. petermc

    petermc Peon

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Have you tried "fn - prt sc"? This is what works for me!

    fn can be usually found next to ctrl bottom left on the keyboard!
     
    petermc, Sep 22, 2009 IP
  18. Lanarkshire IT Services

    Lanarkshire IT Services Guest

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Start > All Programs > Accessories > Sniping Tool

    Or select the window you want copy, make sure it's highlighted then Alt+Print Screen

    Then open Start > All Programs > Accessories > Paint and Paste (Ctrl+V)

    Viola

    Regards
     
    Lanarkshire IT Services, Sep 22, 2009 IP