1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

PR transfer

Discussion in 'Link Development' started by tony84, Jul 6, 2006.

  1. #1
    On my site, all of my backlinks lead to the main domain name, however my home page is now domainname.com/somethingelse what type of redirect would i put there to transfer the pr over?
    SEMrush
     
    tony84, Jul 6, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #2
    You need to do a 301 redirect, you can use htaccess or a script depending on what's available on your server
     
    dct, Jul 6, 2006 IP
  3. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #3
    Can't you just change your server/hosting so that "somethingelse" loads as the default for your main www folder so that nothing need change.

    I would suggest that you keep your links pointing to your domain name and if your new homepage is new.html set it up on your hosting that when the domain is call the default page loaded for that folder is new.html
     
    sji2671, Jul 6, 2006 IP
    dct likes this.
  4. tony84

    tony84 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #4
    sj i like that idea the most, how would i do that?
     
    tony84, Jul 6, 2006 IP
  5. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #5
    Speak to your host and tell them which page you would like to load as the default, its set by default to load index.htm, index.html or possibly .php/.asp but it can be changed to load somethingelse.html , depends on how flexible your host is, then this just acts as your homepage

    - make sure your internal links point to the domain though and not the somethelse.html file
     
    sji2671, Jul 6, 2006 IP
  6. tony84

    tony84 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #6
    all of my internal links go to the full domain so i think i will have to go with the 301 redirect
     
    tony84, Jul 6, 2006 IP
  7. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #7
    If all your internal links point to the domain thats fine, just ask your host to change the defaulkt file loaded for your homepage - no need for the 301 if they do it.
     
    sji2671, Jul 6, 2006 IP