1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Please suggest me...

Discussion in 'C#' started by JEET, Mar 11, 2007.

Hi,
    I am just starting to learn ASP. I know PHP, and a bit of VB as well...
    I'm confused about a few things though and would really appreciate someone suggesting something...

Which database handling should I learn with ASP? I know MYSQL...

What about MS-ACCESS simple file databases, connected using ADO?
    Can I just make a ms-access file on my pc and upload it on web server, or do I sound totally stupid? ;)

While looking for some hosting providers, found that most provide MSSQL and ms-access.

Kindly suggest how to continue with this...

Also, can I install mssql, or sql on my xp running IIS?

JEET, Mar 11, 2007 IP
  2. JenniP

JenniP Peon

Best Answers:
    Unless you have a specific need to learn ASP, learn ASP.NET instead, it makes life a lot easier as so much is done for you, although you will find classic ASP closer to PHP.

Its normally best to use Microsoft SQL Server, rather than Access or MySQL, but any of them is pretty much the same in ASP apart from the database connection string.

While you could just upload an MS Access file, Access isnt really designed for use in websites unless you are expecting a very low number hits.

And finally use you can install SQL Server (SQL Server 2005 Express is a free product) on XP, and if your using ASP.NET 2.0 and your hosts supports SQL Express uploading your database is as it would be with access.

Jen

JenniP, Mar 11, 2007 IP
  3. JEET

JEET Notable Member

Best Answers:
    Hi Jen,
    Thanks for the advise. MS-SQL is what I'm planning on as well. All the web host I have contacted so far support both ms-sql and ms-access...