1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

phpLD Tools & Addons

Discussion in 'Directories' started by SilkySmooth, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. pipes

    pipes Prominent Member

    Messages:
    12,767
    Likes Received:
    958
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #81
    Have pm'd you SilkySmooth.
    SEMrush
     
    pipes, Jul 7, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. onlinebisnes

    onlinebisnes Peon

    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #82
    I'd try to put latest featured list at my home page but still can't figure out where to put the tag (href="{$smarty.const.DOC_ROOT}/index.php?list=featured") for the list appeared at bottom of my category list.

    admin featured link already set to enable.

    I'm using sunny blue template : blogaboutmysite.com/templates/2007/05/15/sunny-blue-new-fresh-premium-phpld-template-for-phpld-21-306-31-32/

    my dir : wordpressdb.net
     
    onlinebisnes, Jul 7, 2007 IP
  3. SilkySmooth

    SilkySmooth Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #83
    Hi,

    I am afraid you have misunderstood the mod you are trying to install, it is not for adding a list of featured listings to your homepage, but rather, adding a dedicated page which lists the latest featured listings. Exactly the same as the 'Latest Listings' page, but it only shows featured sites.

    To do what you are looking for you would need the 'Display Top 5 Featured Links On Index.php' mod from Shadav.
     
    SilkySmooth, Jul 8, 2007 IP
  4. ostfriese2004

    ostfriese2004 Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #84
    Hi there!
    I have just installed the social bookmark plugin. How do i change the size of the icons (10x10)? I resized the images, but they are still the same. Do I have to embed the {php] output in a div tag?

    Best regards and thanks in advance!

    Helge

    --
    http://www.ostfriesenblog.de
     
    ostfriese2004, Jul 9, 2007 IP
  5. SilkySmooth

    SilkySmooth Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #85
    Hi Helge,

    To change the size of the icons you will need to do a little PHP editing. Open up the file '/includes/social_bookmarks.php' and on lines 42 and 45 (towards the end of each line) you will see the following:

    
    height=\"16\" width=\"16\"
    
    Code (markup):
    Just change this to:

    
    height=\"10\" width=\"10\"
    
    Code (markup):
    Save the file, upload to your server, reload the page and the icons will display at the new size.

    Let me know if you have any problems.
     
    SilkySmooth, Jul 9, 2007 IP
    pipes likes this.
  6. ostfriese2004

    ostfriese2004 Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #86
    Hiya!

    Thanx, all icons are now displayed at the new size.

    However, badly for you, now I have installed your "site of the day" mod which I also would like to adapt to my needs.

    First, the link to the web site should be shown a line below the title. As it is realised on your directory.
    Second, I also would like to have a gap between the border of the image (the border to the right) and the description as it is on your site
    Finally, I don't want to show user the PR-Stats at this point - as it is on your site.

    I am sorry, my css knowledge is only average and combined with the tpl and php syntax I don't know what to change where...

    If you want to have a look: http://www.ostfriesenblog.de/Ostfriesland_Linkverzeichnis/

    It's not finished yet, I still have to do a lot of work. It takes much time coz I am working following the try and error principle. :)
     
    ostfriese2004, Jul 10, 2007 IP
  7. ostfriese2004

    ostfriese2004 Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #87
    Oh, there's something I forgot (editing the last message didn't work) to ask..

    Is there a way to make the description (site of the day) look (text-align=) "justified" ?

    Kind regards,

    Helge
     
    ostfriese2004, Jul 10, 2007 IP
  8. SilkySmooth

    SilkySmooth Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #88
    Hi Helge,

    Glad the icons fix worked out ;)

    As for the Site of the Day mod, this really is just a case of playing around with the site_of_the_day.tpl file until it meets your requirements.

    The following is something I have just put together, unfortunately I cannot give you the exact copy of the template which Directory Share uses because it has some advanced url rewriting functions which are not part of the phpLD core.

    Anyway, give this a try:

    
    {strip}
    <table align="center" width="580" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="2" border="0">
         <tr>
           <td>Site of the Day</td>
         </tr>
    </table>
    <table align="center" width="580" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="2" border="0">
         <tr>
           <td>
             <table align="center" width="100%" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="2" border="0">
                  <tr>
                    <td width="120" align="center">
                      <a id="id_{$sotd.ID}" href="{$sotd.URL|escape|trim}" title="{$sotd.TITLE|escape|trim}"
                      {* nofollow *}
                      {if $sotd.NOFOLLOW or ($sotd.RECPR_VALID eq 0 and ($smarty.const.RECPR_NOFOLLOW eq 2 or ($smarty.const.RECPR_NOFOLLOW eq 1 and $sotd.RECPR_REQUIRED eq 1)))} rel="nofollow"{/if}
                      {if $smarty.const.ENABLE_BLANK} target="_blank"{/if}><img src="http://msnsearch.srv.girafa.com/srv/i?s=MSNSEARCH&amp;r={$sotd.URL|escape|trim}" border="0" width="120" height="90" alt="{$sotd.TITLE|escape|trim}" /></a>
                    </td>
                    <td>
                      <a id="id_{$sotd.ID}" href="{$sotd.URL|escape|trim}" title="{$sotd.TITLE|escape|trim}"
                      {* nofollow *}
                      {if $sotd.NOFOLLOW or ($sotd.RECPR_VALID eq 0 and ($smarty.const.RECPR_NOFOLLOW eq 2 or ($smarty.const.RECPR_NOFOLLOW eq 1 and $sotd.RECPR_REQUIRED eq 1)))} rel="nofollow"{/if}
                      {if $smarty.const.ENABLE_BLANK} target="_blank"{/if}>
                      {$sotd.TITLE|escape|trim}</a><br /><span class="url">{$sotd.URL|escape|trim}</span>
                      <p>{$sotd.DESCRIPTION|escape|trim} -&nbsp;[<a href="{if !$smarty.const.ENABLE_REWRITE}
                         {$smarty.const.DOC_ROOT}/detail.php?id={$sotd.ID}
                         {else}
                         {$smarty.const.DOC_ROOT}/detail/link-{$sotd.ID}.html{/if}" title="{l}Read more about{/l}: {$sotd.TITLE|escape|trim}">{l}Read&nbsp;more{/l}</a>
                         {if $smarty.const.REQUIRE_REGISTERED_USER == 1 and !empty ($regular_user_details) and ($regular_user_details.ID == $sotd.OWNER_ID)}
                         ,&nbsp;<a href="{$smarty.const.DOC_ROOT}/submit.php?linkid={$sotd.ID}" title="{l}Edit or Remove your link{/l}">{l}Review{/l}</a>
                         {/if}]
                      </p>
                    </td>
                  </tr>
             </table>
           </td>
         </tr>
    </table>
    {/strip}
    
    Code (markup):
    As for alignment of the description, just add a style tag to the paragraph.
     
    SilkySmooth, Jul 11, 2007 IP
    Nima likes this.
  9. Nima

    Nima Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    175
    #89
    SilkySmooth...

    I've been trying to install the Bookmarking Mod in my website directory.

    Everything has gone well except one thing. The bookmarking pictures appear in separate lines (even though I followed your code completely)...

    Do you have any idea why?

    This is what I am using in the sidebar-left.tpl:

    
    {php} DisplayBookmarks('DOMAIN','&nbsp;',0,''); {/php}
    
    Code (markup):
    I have also listed your mods on my phpLD Mods page (those that I've installed so far)...

    Thanks a lot.
    Nima
     
    Nima, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  10. SilkySmooth

    SilkySmooth Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #90
    Hi Nima,

    I haven`t tested it, but I am pretty sure it is because you have the bookmarks being displayed in a div without a fixed width and this is causing the browsers to collapse the display to the shortest possible width, thus wrapping the images on two lines.

    Try specifiying the width of the left side box in that div and see if that resolves the issue.

    This is just from a quick scan of your source code obviously, but the output from the php code all looks present and correct so I am sure that it is a design issue.

    PS: Thanks for the links :)
     
    SilkySmooth, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  11. Nima

    Nima Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    175
    #91
    it does seem like its a design issue, but I can't figure out why...

    I set the width to "200px" but no change....
     
    Nima, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  12. SilkySmooth

    SilkySmooth Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #92
    Nima,

    Ok, I think I have found your problem. I noticed when I mouse over your links in your Most Popular categories that the link is highlighted virtually from the left border all the way to the right border, despite the fact that the link text is no where near.

    I then found this in your CSS file:

    
    #sidebar_left div, #sidebar_right div, #search {
    	margin: 0 0 5px 0; padding: 10px;
    	line-height: 1.75em;
    	border: #e1d6ae 1px solid;
    	color: #31260f;
    }
    #sidebar_left a, #sidebar_right a {
    	display: block;
    	color: #31260f;
    	text-decoration: none;
    }
    
    Code (markup):
    I think the display block is inheriting it's dimensions from your margins declared in the div above it. Which is forcing the a tag to be sized from one side of the box to the other. You will note that the same happens with the icons for bookmarking. You can click them even at the far right side of the box.

    So, remove your div width setting and remove that display: block; setting and see what that gives us.
     
    SilkySmooth, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  13. Nima

    Nima Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    175
    #93
    Beautiful. I had to make some other changes beside what you mentioned. But it works great now. I would give you more Rep but i can't...

    I will add the mod to my phpLD Mods list by tonight...

    Cheers,
    Nima
     
    Nima, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  14. Nima

    Nima Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    175
    #94
    SilkySmooth,
    Can you do a mod to check whether the website is DMOZ listed or not?
     
    Nima, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  15. SilkySmooth

    SilkySmooth Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #95
    Anything is possible, we'll see what happens on my next release ;)
     
    SilkySmooth, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  16. malcolm1

    malcolm1 Prominent Member

    Messages:
    7,148
    Likes Received:
    758
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #96
    You dont know that seo quake has one?

    It offers a dmoz as well as yahoo listed...
    for both FF and IE

    thx
    malcolm
     
    malcolm1, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  17. SilkySmooth

    SilkySmooth Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #97
    I think he wants a mod that will display whether a site is listed in DMOZ on his directory details page, unless I am mistaken.
     
    SilkySmooth, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  18. mywebsearches

    mywebsearches Peon

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    116
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #98
    Does "Category Newsfeed" works on phpld3.1?
     
    mywebsearches, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  19. SilkySmooth

    SilkySmooth Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    269
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #99
    I haven`t tested it myself on 3.1 but I have tested it on 3.0.6 and it ran fine so you shouldn't have any problems running it on 3.1
     
    SilkySmooth, Jul 11, 2007 IP
  20. Nima

    Nima Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    175
    #100
    You are right, That is what I'm looking for.
     
    Nima, Jul 11, 2007 IP