1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

PHP and Site maps

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by johneva, Feb 16, 2006.

  1. #1
    Hia all

    I have just tryed running one of the site map generators(A PHP one) but it only picksup a few of the pages.

    My site uses PHP and has a directory of cars from the database and has a page for each car, then there are also the other standard pages (contact us and so on).

    I take it making a site map for this kind of site is much harder that running a sitemap generator.
    SEMrush
    Thanx John

    http://www.lease-hire.co.uk
     
    johneva, Feb 16, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. justinwp

    justinwp Peon

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    justinwp, Feb 18, 2006 IP
  3. johneva

    johneva Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #3
    Yeah I know but when there is a lot of pages and they change depending on what cars are in the database it would the involve quite a bit oflooking after to keep it upto date.

    If it is not accurate and upto date surly I am better off not having one at all?
     
    johneva, Feb 19, 2006 IP
  4. tkluge

    tkluge Peon

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Maybe you can have a look at *ad* phpSitemapNG */ad* . There you can just create a special input plugin that connects to your database and feeds these information into the system that will create the sitemap file(s w/(o) sitemap index file).
    If you have any question or problem regarding phpSitemapNG - drop me a private message.

    Google doesn't penalize you when the sitemaps content isn't accurate. I'm always using the timestamp of the sitemap creation for all files - Google doesn't seem to react on this.
    I would call the sitemaps just as a hint for Google, it's not more. Just another way to submit a list of urls. But you should make shure that they comply with the Google rules, otherwise you might point Google to the problematic pages - and that might cause trouble. :(

    Tobias
     
    tkluge, Feb 23, 2006 IP
  5. jameswatt

    jameswatt Peon

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Hi all

    I am new to SEO field....

    My client site is hosted on linux server and previously he has used PHPNG sitemap generetor.... is it mandetory that to create sitemap for linux hosted site to use PHPGN sitemapgenerate tool, can't i use other tool like cup coffee,or sitemapgen.....

    well i am not comfortable with php and phpgnsitemap gn so it's hard for me to do settings .....

    can any body guide me how can i do that....
     
    jameswatt, Apr 17, 2006 IP
  6. tkluge

    tkluge Peon

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Hi James,

    thanks for giving phpSitemapNG a try. What exactly is the problem? Can you give more information about the problem - that would help to solve the problems.
    Did you manage to install it? What kind of website do you / your client have/has?

    Best regards,
    Tobias
     
    tkluge, Apr 17, 2006 IP
  7. tonyinabox

    tonyinabox Peon

    Messages:
    1,988
    Likes Received:
    42
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I made my own php script, it's good that my script crawling every single link, but have time out problem..
     
    tonyinabox, Apr 28, 2006 IP
  8. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,102
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Best Answers:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #8
    Don't build a sitemap that crawls your site - it should be crawling your database!!!!

    I use sitemaps on all of my sites and the worst one is where the site is hand constructed and not using a CMS.
     
    sarahk, Apr 28, 2006 IP
  9. tonyinabox

    tonyinabox Peon

    Messages:
    1,988
    Likes Received:
    42
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    yes. i have both on my website. so i need it crawls webpage anyway
     
    tonyinabox, Apr 28, 2006 IP
  10. websitetools

    websitetools Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #10
    Even if your website resides on a Linux server
    (and EVEN if your website is partly database driven)
    most sitemap generators (crawlers) should work just fine!
    You can use your favourite Windows/whatever tool for the job.

    Are you experiencing any problems using e.g.
    Coffeecup Sitemapper, A1 Sitemap Generator, GSiteCrawler etc?
    (for more, check: http://code.google.com/sm_thirdparty.html)
     
    websitetools, May 15, 2006 IP
  11. Ferrarislave

    Ferrarislave Peon

    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    38
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I have a large database of images, but they are not really named in any meaningful way. What would be the best way to get those indexed?
     
    Ferrarislave, Jun 5, 2006 IP
  12. RaZoRLeGaCy

    RaZoRLeGaCy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #12
    RaZoRLeGaCy, Jun 7, 2006 IP
  13. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,102
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Best Answers:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #13
    You could add the images to the sitemap (need to check the rules on that though) but the index doesn't handle naming or indexing criteria.

    To get them indexed meaningfully you're better to have an html sitemap with their links titled and alt'ed - and add the html sitemap to your xml sitemap :)
     
    sarahk, Jun 7, 2006 IP
  14. Ferrarislave

    Ferrarislave Peon

    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    38
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    What do yo mean by titled? As in Title="myspace graphics" ?
     
    Ferrarislave, Jun 12, 2006 IP
  15. redhits

    redhits Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    277
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    #15
    Just submit them that way ?!:confused:
     
    redhits, Jun 15, 2006 IP
  16. mint suite

    mint suite Peon

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    I recently read that having &id= means that that page won't be crawled by google. Is this true? If so do I have to have a stab at use modrewrites on my pages?
     
    mint suite, Jun 21, 2006 IP
  17. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,102
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Best Answers:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #17
    Google doesn't mind id, it's sid or sessionid that they'll get picky about.

    I'd tend to avoid id, but having parameters is ok

    for an example of a site doing well check out http://www.searchenginejournal.com/?p=3066
     
    sarahk, Jun 21, 2006 IP
  18. websitetools

    websitetools Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #18
    And even if you have problems with using SID etc. on your site, some *cough* sitemap generators can filter such stuff away :)
     
    websitetools, Jun 21, 2006 IP