1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Page Load Time Optimization for ASP Pages

Discussion in 'C#' started by webcosmo, May 14, 2007.

  1. #1
    I am trying to reduce the page load time for my site
    http://www.webcosmo.com
    Its written on ASP.
    This site is hybrid of css and html.
    Currently it takes about 18 seconds to load on 10KB/s internet speed.
    SEMrush
    Any ideas would be appreciated.
     
    webcosmo, May 14, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. IsRoss()

    IsRoss() Peon

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    It loads very quickly for me (Win XP, Firefox, high speed lan connection).
     
    IsRoss(), May 14, 2007 IP
  3. finestinfo

    finestinfo Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    It seems pretty quick for me too.

    Try from another PC.
     
    finestinfo, May 14, 2007 IP
  4. poseidon

    poseidon Banned

    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    246
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Great website and it loads fine to me. Are u using Joomla ?
     
    poseidon, May 14, 2007 IP
  5. finestinfo

    finestinfo Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    It looks like a Joomla site.

    Smart template.
     
    finestinfo, May 14, 2007 IP
  6. jaymcc

    jaymcc Peon

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Unless joomla comes in .net flavour then it's net joomla.

    The site seems to load OK. With .net i find with my sights that typically the first load in a while normally takes longer than subsequent loads. As an example if no-one hits my .net site in more than say 2 hours, the first hit can take up to 5 seconds longer. I think this has more to do with the server than anything else and there is probably a way to make this better.

    To be honest though, i don't think you need to worry about if for your site.
     
    jaymcc, May 14, 2007 IP
  7. ccoonen

    ccoonen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    71
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #7
    Tables are your culprit for a slower load time, when using tables, it has to load the entire table before it can display any content within it. Change your structure to use div's and you'll see the div as soon as it's loaded. Also i see a lot of empty table cells - try using rowspans or colspans when you can if you stick with the tabular structure :)
     
    ccoonen, May 15, 2007 IP
  8. webcosmo

    webcosmo Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,841
    Likes Received:
    153
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    255
    #8
    Its developed using visual studio .net. I agree Jaymcc, first page seems to load slower then others.
    I am using hybrid version of table and divs, since using divs coding is a bit difficult in some cases. But I did use divs as much as possible. however there is chance of improvement.
     
    webcosmo, May 16, 2007 IP
  9. ccoonen

    ccoonen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    71
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #9
    ASPX Pages can take forEver to compile, once it's compiled its cached and loads very fast, but each page needs to compile prior to viewing.
     
    ccoonen, May 19, 2007 IP
  10. webcosmo

    webcosmo Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,841
    Likes Received:
    153
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    255
    #10
    visual studio .net 2005 has a option for pre-compiled website. guess that may solve the problem. anybody has experience on that?
     
    webcosmo, May 20, 2007 IP
  11. ccoonen

    ccoonen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    71
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #11
    Yes, you can precompile a site "build" but once you modify the files, they have to compile again, I would just let it run it's course and compile after you post all the files (the compile doesn't need to happen again unless the files change)
     
    ccoonen, May 22, 2007 IP