1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Options for my First Real Forum

Discussion in 'vBulletin' started by mark1, Feb 12, 2006.

I have no experience in promoting or setting up forums, but I have a long term vision and I want to build a forum community that would last for some time. Hope you guys can suggest a good first forum for me. So which forum would be the best for me?

I don't mind forking over a few dollars and from reading a few posts here - vBulletin comes fully recommended.

How about phpBB and IPB? or Simple Machines?

Can these forums be upgraded? Say I went with phpBB first then I wanted to upgrade to vBulletin - can the posts be migrated into the new setup?

mark1, Feb 12, 2006 IP
  2. BigEasy

BigEasy Peon

Best Answers:
    You can upgrade almost any forum to vB - just check their site FAQ (www.vbulletin.com).

I've heard phpBB is good, but if you don't stay up to date it's quite easy to get hacked. Any of the ones you listed would be good, IMHO.

BigEasy, Feb 12, 2006 IP
  3. GTAce

GTAce Notable Member

Best Answers:
    phpBB, IPB, and SMF can all be upgraded to vB...the catch with SMF and IPB is that the passwords cannot be converted....So if you go with one and plan on moving to vB later on down the road...keep this in mind...your members will all need to reset their passwords.

I think that since you have a long-term vision for the forums and you plan on using vB later on anyways, go ahead and get it. This will simply make things easier down the road...will also let you make more permanent decisions without having to worry about losing them later on.

GTAce, Feb 12, 2006 IP
  4. gprime

gprime Guest

Best Answers: