1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Opinions About G**gle Reaction to Advertising Sales

Discussion in 'Advertising' started by DreamingEagle, Jul 25, 2005.

I've been doing some research into G**gle's policies about sites which sell advertising along with running AdSense. They state that they allow us to sell text ads provided they do not appear to look like Google AdSense ads to any reasonable person. No problem. The text ads on my site do not look anything at all like Google AdSense ads, and, when I sell one, I remove the AdSense stuff from that column completely. I've been doing this for a couple of years and have had no emails from them.

Then there is the larger question of selling advertising as a whole. We see advertising on all the big sites, including sitewide links on major newspapers like the FresnoBee and the Salt Lake Tribune --- just to mention a couple. HowStuffWorks sells text links. Then, of course, there are banner and button ads everywhere.

Yet on many SEO forums the whole subject of selling advertising seems considered something taboo --- selling PR as it's often labeled. Yet few people buy links or image ads on low PR sites. It's the first thing a potential customer looks at, the first thing they want to know. You can't escape it, just as you cannot escape people wanting to know how many pages you serve a month.

So most smaller sites which do sell advertising do it in what I would almost call a furtive way, running auctions or posting offers on a few forums which allow it, such as this one.