1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Opera VS Explorer&Firefox positioning. What am i doing wrong?

Discussion in 'CSS' started by martincheq, Jun 30, 2009.

Hi. I am pretty new in HTML&CSS, but as far as I know, the web page which I created should work. I have been developing it with Opera, so everything was good there. But in the end, I also checked in FF and IE and noticed that the contact.htm isn't positions as it should be. So I am sasking you, what am I doing wrong, that the elements aren't positioned as they should be. If you're looking them with Opera, they are just as they should be.

page: martincheq.info/contact.htm

Huge thanks, martincheq!!

martincheq, Jun 30, 2009 IP
  2. drhowarddrfine

drhowarddrfine Peon

Best Answers:
    Haven't looked much yet but you are using XHTML end tags, />. Remove the slash. Browsers sometimes end processing at that point.

Rule 1: Never, ever trust IE to do anything right.
    Rule 2: You are doing. Always use a modern browser to first check your markup.

drhowarddrfine, Jun 30, 2009 IP
  3. martincheq

martincheq Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    Now I've removed these slashes, but then everything just get worse. And after all, in Explorer I get just a blank page .. I am not really sure if deleting all the slashes is a good idea :?

martincheq, Jun 30, 2009 IP
  4. drhowarddrfine

drhowarddrfine Peon

Best Answers:
    Putting those slashes in is like airplane wings on a car. People will look at your markup and think wtf? The wings may damage other cars while driving but they do not belong on a car and they do no harm if you remove them.