1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Opencart and Google sitemap in Google Webmaster

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by Jacob Philip, Nov 20, 2013.

  1. #1
    In Opencart there is option of getting sitemap the Google site map by default. But problem is that while submitting the same to Google webmaster it say - "it's not an xml sitemap" so what to do?
    How can i submit the sitemap to Google webmaster. Thanks in advance.
    Don't tell me about advance paid extensions!
    SEMrush
     
    Solved! View solution.
    Jacob Philip, Nov 20, 2013 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Rajeevkumar

    Rajeevkumar Active Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #2
    The default Google sitemap automatically ping google to add the links from the sitemap or once google search spider crawl the site it will index from sitemap all the links.

    Extensions are good as they provides more flexibility and options :(
     
    Rajeevkumar, Nov 24, 2013 IP
    Victoria Montoya likes this.
  3. Rado_ch

    Rado_ch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    288
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #3
    Does the error state that the sitemap is html? In such a case, you would need to make sure you upload the sitemap in the .xml format, which is the one readable by Google. You can try the xml-sitemaps tool to generate it in .xml and upload it to your site.

    www [dot] xml-sitemaps [dot] com
     
    Rado_ch, Nov 24, 2013 IP
  4. Rajeevkumar

    Rajeevkumar Active Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #4
    Yes that is possible but it will take time to generate the xml site map with them and it required another step of uploading the site map to the server. Another problem with this is - it required to upload regularly by generating the sitemap again and again, if want to keep the sitemap updated regularly.
     
    Rajeevkumar, Nov 25, 2013 IP
    Victoria Montoya likes this.
  5. Jacob Philip

    Jacob Philip Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #5
    I don't think that Google sitemap will ping it out what you are saying
     
    Jacob Philip, Nov 25, 2013 IP
  6. Jacob Philip

    Jacob Philip Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #6
    Yes the error says that this is not valid xml. The site you metioned i have gone it previously while it is worthy but i don't want to create the sitemap manualy everytimes i uploaded some products or created some new categories in Opencart. Is there no other way of doing it?
    Anyway thanks for you suggestion

    Hey! You are saying what i mentioned what i didn't want to do it manually and the demrit of doing it so. Thanks for this reply. I got you points.
     
    Jacob Philip, Nov 25, 2013 IP
    Victoria Montoya likes this.
  7. ryan_uk

    ryan_uk Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    3,985
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Best Answers:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    465
    #7
    The first thing you need to do is actually try viewing the sitemap to establish if there is any XML there and then try to validate it. Either in the browser or saving it to your desktop and looking in the source. Is there actually any content? If there is (and there is no obvious error) test it with an XML validator, such as:
    http://www.validome.org/xml/
     
    ryan_uk, Nov 25, 2013 IP
  8. Jacob Philip

    Jacob Philip Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #8
    I have to check but i will have to go in the core - i mean in the files of Opencat which is tedious job for me. I don't want to do as i am not much expert in that! I have seen in setting that a xml feed for the sitemap that's what i know!
     
    Jacob Philip, Nov 25, 2013 IP
  9. #9
    You just need to put http://example.com/sitemap.xml in your browser and then next the validator. It's not difficult, just replace example.com with your actual domain name.
     
    ryan_uk, Nov 25, 2013 IP
    mollie.fr likes this.
  10. Jacob Philip

    Jacob Philip Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #10
    oh i Got this will try and tell you if that's work or not.
     
    Jacob Philip, Nov 25, 2013 IP
  11. Rajeevkumar

    Rajeevkumar Active Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #11
    You Ideology worked on the localhost so I think will do on the server as well. ;)
     
    Rajeevkumar, Dec 1, 2013 IP
    mollie.fr likes this.
  12. Jacob Philip

    Jacob Philip Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #12
    Thanks for the solution it's working well
     
    Jacob Philip, Dec 10, 2013 IP
    ryan_uk likes this.