1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Now i'm really confused

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by bornagaintrader, Jul 29, 2006.

  1. #1
    After months sitting in G purgatory in the last few weeks I have started to appear on the first page for my website name. Then last night I just disappeared. So initially I thought I was banned -- however, I am now starting to appear on the 2nd page for 'commerically orientated' keywords -- again out of nowhere. So the name that my site really should be relevant for is gone and i'm starting to show up for commerical terms. Anyone got any ideas?
    SEMrush
     
    bornagaintrader, Jul 29, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. ewan

    ewan Peon

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Maybe the other Google Datacentres have not been updated yet.

    Just wait a while it'll come back
     
    ewan, Jul 29, 2006 IP
  3. AnaB

    AnaB Peon

    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Is the name branded or just a keyword name?

    Google is kind of messed up right now. Just wait it out.
     
    AnaB, Jul 29, 2006 IP
    maldives likes this.
  4. seo-mumbai

    seo-mumbai Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    183
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #4
    not clear plz be clear
     
    seo-mumbai, Jul 30, 2006 IP
  5. maldives

    maldives Prominent Member

    Messages:
    7,186
    Likes Received:
    901
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #5
    It keeps on changing occasionally. No website is guranteed their ranking.
     
    maldives, Jul 30, 2006 IP
  6. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #6
    The datacentres(version of google you are currently using/seeing) fluctuate a lot nowadays.

    You will probably see movement every other day sometimes reversing what you saw the day before, unless your serps are really strong, try and get some good links to your site using the business name as anchor text.

    You will probably rank for your business name again in the next few days, if it doesn't stabilise then you'll need more links to your site.

    If your talking about themastercleaners then I suggest on the footer of your site you link to the domain, and not www.yourdomain.com/index.htm

    Also in the footer I suggest you link to your homepage with the business name on every page, instead of a 'Home' link in the footer, you should change that text to your business name.

    Also most of the links in that footer there are broken, the pages exist from the header navigation so I would sort the footer links.
     
    sji2671, Jul 30, 2006 IP
    maldives likes this.
  7. bornagaintrader

    bornagaintrader Peon

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I just felt that having featured on the first page for 'the master cleaners' for quite a long time that was a safe bet. As a result I have started using other anchors for my link text. But if I don't see an improvement in the next week then I'll have to pursue that anchor texct


    Sorry, I'm a newbie, do you mean rather than have the 'home tag' in the links at the bottom I should use the business name?

    As for the broken links -- I'm aware of that and there was a balls up by the designer last time he updated the site so that should be taken care of shortly.

    Thanks for having a look
     
    bornagaintrader, Jul 30, 2006 IP
  8. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #8
    Yes, change the text of the link from "home" to your business name, also remove the /index.htm part of the link so it just links directly to the domain name.
     
    sji2671, Jul 30, 2006 IP