1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Noob Here, What Next?

Discussion in 'CSS' started by gobbly2100, Jun 7, 2007.

Ok I have this project I am doing where I want to build a site 100% from "Notepad" that will validate perfectly with W3 and I wish to build it with XHTML/CSS.

This is how far I got
    Poole Town

I would now like to create a navigation bar for along the top but can't seem to think where to start, I am not using HTML tables sohow can I use CSS to format a page for all my content to go on as such?

Sorry if this seems like am basicaly asking someone to explain how to make a whole website, I just want someone to just give me a place to start.

gobbly2100, Jun 7, 2007 IP
  2. LeetPCUser

LeetPCUser Peon

Best Answers:
    I would start by making a div for the nav bar. Here is an example.

#navbar
    {
     width:500px;
     height:30px;
     background-color:#000000;
     color:#ffffff;
     line-height:30px;
    }

Code (markup):
    This will make a 500x30 div with a background color of black and white text. The line-height will vertically center your text in the box. Hope this helps!

LeetPCUser, Jun 7, 2007 IP
  3. gobbly2100

gobbly2100 Banned

Best Answers:
    With "Div" tags do I need a closing tag?

To put that in my site I have done this

<div id="navbar">

Am I supposed to close that? If so how should I do it?

gobbly2100, Jun 7, 2007 IP
  4. Dan Schulz

Dan Schulz Peon

Best Answers:
    I'd actually use an unordered list for this.

Start the list by typing <ul> and then add an ID with a value of "menu" to it, like this:

<ul id="menu">

Code (markup):