1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

No redirect or canonical to HTTPS homepage from HTTP version

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by Jay168888, Mar 20, 2018.

  1. #1
    Hi Everyone,

    Last week we've migrated our site from http to https. Since then our rankings disappeared and traffic drop by 90%.

    Now we are using SEMRush to scan our site and received the following notice,

    No redirect or canonical to HTTPS homepage from HTTP version
    SEMrush
    which seems to be the main issue. However, our site is indeed already on https, but it seems Google cannot tell that we have moved.

    Can you give us suggestion on how to inform our developer to fix this issue? Thank you.
     
    Jay168888, Mar 20, 2018 IP
    SEMrush
  2. mrb1129

    mrb1129 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #2
    Have you or have you not 301 redirected through your .htaccess file? Its important when you are switching.
     
    mrb1129, Mar 22, 2018 IP
  3. Marcus_SM

    Marcus_SM Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #3
    Yep, you need to set a 301 redirect fron HTTP to HTTPS to let Google know which version of the website is a preferred one, here's a tutorial for apache web server: https://www.namecheap.com/support/knowledgebase/article.aspx/9821/38/redirect-to-https-on-apache
     
    Marcus_SM, Apr 6, 2018 IP
  4. iwebsocial

    iwebsocial Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    54
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #4
    You can also approach your web hosting provider and they will do it for you.
     
    iwebsocial, Apr 18, 2018 IP
  5. Tanmoy Kundu

    Tanmoy Kundu Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    #5
    You should try adding 301 redirect for all existing http
     
    Tanmoy Kundu, Apr 18, 2018 IP
  6. vijaykumarseo

    vijaykumarseo Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #6
    Have you or have you not 301 redirected through your .htaccess file? Its important when you are switching.

    You should try adding 301 redirect for all existing http.
    Try it.
    Thanks
     
    vijaykumarseo, Apr 18, 2018 IP
  7. RomanEpo

    RomanEpo Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #7
    Did you disable http site browsing on 1st step ? Just enable http site browsing and check everything https working correctly ,than redirect it http to https.I dont know how you host your site and which technology are you using for web and application ,thats why i cant give you any technical steps.
     
    RomanEpo, Apr 18, 2018 IP