1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Newbie In Distress!! Need Help With Register Globals Function...

Discussion in 'Databases' started by Brandtson, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. #1
    "FATAL ERROR: register_globals is disabled in php.ini, please enable it!" is the error i get when i try to install osCommerce on my mediatemple gridserver. How do i fix this? A little help would be much appreciated! :D
     
    Brandtson, Dec 14, 2006 IP
  2. eXe

    eXe Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,643
    Likes Received:
    248
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #2
    Which OS is your server running on? Open the php.ini file & set register_globals to on
     
    eXe, Dec 14, 2006 IP
  3. Brandtson

    Brandtson Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    This is the code of my php.ini file;
    _________________________________

    ; Rename this file to php.ini and uncomment or add directives.
    ; For a complete list of valid directives, visit:
    ; http://us2.php.net/manual/en/ini.php

    
    ; We highly recommend that you leave this options enabled
    cgi.fix_pathinfo=1
    
    ; Increase maximum post size
    ;post_max_size = 20M
    
    ; Increase execution time
    ;max_execution_time = 300
    
    ; pull in EGPCS [Environment, GET, POST, Cookie, Server] variables as globals
    ;register_globals = true
    
    ; For performance reasons, (mt) does not load all of the modules that are available
    ; into PHP. You may uncomment any one of the following "extension" lines to enable
    ; the desired module
    
    ; Salblotron XSLT
    ;extension=xslt.so
    
    
    ___________
    
    It says true. Does that mean it's on? Because i still get the error message about it being off. :(
    PHP:
     
    Brandtson, Dec 14, 2006 IP
  4. eXe

    eXe Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,643
    Likes Received:
    248
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    285
    #4
    Is that php.ini file from the root folder of the oscommerce installation or your server's main php.ini file? You need to enable in the main php.ini file
     
    eXe, Dec 14, 2006 IP
  5. Brandtson

    Brandtson Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    This is the code of my php.ini file;
    _________________________________

    ; Rename this file to php.ini and uncomment or add directives.
    ; For a complete list of valid directives, visit:
    ; http://us2.php.net/manual/en/ini.php

    
    ; We highly recommend that you leave this options enabled
    cgi.fix_pathinfo=1
    
    ; Increase maximum post size
    ;post_max_size = 20M
    
    ; Increase execution time
    ;max_execution_time = 300
    
    ; pull in EGPCS [Environment, GET, POST, Cookie, Server] variables as globals
    ;register_globals = true
    
    ; For performance reasons, (mt) does not load all of the modules that are available
    ; into PHP. You may uncomment any one of the following "extension" lines to enable
    ; the desired module
    
    ; Salblotron XSLT
    ;extension=xslt.so
    
    
    ___________
    
    It says true. Does that mean it's on? Because i still get the error message about it being off. :(
    PHP:
     
    Brandtson, Dec 14, 2006 IP
  6. Brandtson

    Brandtson Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    It's in the main root folder.
     
    Brandtson, Dec 14, 2006 IP
  7. adam1987

    adam1987 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #7
    # $Id: .htaccess,v 1.3 2003/06/12 10:53:20 hpdl Exp $
    #
    # This is used with Apache WebServers
    #
    # For this to work, you must include the parameter 'Options' to
    # the AllowOverride configuration
    #
    # Example:
    #
    # <Directory "/usr/local/apache/htdocs">
    #   AllowOverride Options
    # </Directory>
    #
    # 'All' with also work. (This configuration is in the
    # apache/conf/httpd.conf file)
    
    # The following makes adjustments to the SSL protocol for Internet
    # Explorer browsers
    
    <IfModule mod_setenvif.c>
      <IfDefine SSL>
        SetEnvIf User-Agent ".*MSIE.*" \
                 nokeepalive ssl-unclean-shutdown \
                 downgrade-1.0 force-response-1.0
      </IfDefine>
    </IfModule>
    
    # Fix certain PHP values
    # (commented out by default to prevent errors occuring on certain
    # servers)
    
    #<IfModule mod_php4.c>
    #  php_value session.use_trans_sid 0
     php_value register_globals 1
    #</IfModule>
    
    HTML:
    save that code as .htaccess and save to root and all should be fine. :p
     
    adam1987, Dec 27, 2006 IP
  8. Xonium

    Xonium Peon

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Well it's not enabled because the line is commented out
    ;register_globals = true shoule be
    register_globals = true
     
    Xonium, Dec 29, 2006 IP