1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Newbie advice on marketing a new site

Discussion in 'General Marketing' started by sharpweb, Oct 3, 2005.

My background is in web programming and design for other people. I never worried much about the marketing except for SEO. But I've decided to become a little more free from hourly wages and start a few projects of my own.

snowcommunity.com offers free classifeds, a business directory, articles, photos and forums for a ski and snowboard town in New Zealand. Basically I hope to have two types of people visiting the site...locals that will hopefully become regualrs to the site and tourists planning on visiting. I know how to get the tourists there via search engines and links. What I really need to concentrate on is getting the locals to put up classifieds and post to the forums. Here's my best guesses on how go about this:

1) make a poster and offer advertising space for very cheap or free to promenint shops in town willing to display my poster in their shop.
    2) encourage businesses to join the directory, and therefor go to the site and sign up
    3) put ads in the local papers (i'd like tips on how to ensure effective ads)
    4) Tell all my friends and ask them to pass it on to everyone they know
    5) Get as many links as possible to my site from local businesses and other local websites.
    6) SEO my way to good keyword rankings

Things I don't think will help me much:
    1) buying bulk trafffic
    2) adwords
    3) depending on search engines to direct the locals to me