1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

New Tool Request :)

Discussion in 'Products & Tools' started by hexed, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. #1
    DP:

    How about a tool for Google that will allow you to scan every datacenter and report the position of a certain URL? i.e.

    64.3.3.3 - Position #5
    64.2.3.4 - Postion #3

    ..

    etc.
    hexed
    SEMrush
     
    hexed, Jun 3, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,285
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    Sorry, not going to happen. :) First, it would be a violation of Google's TOS because you could not use the Google API. And secondly, it would be a massive amount of mostly duplicate data.
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 3, 2004 IP
  3. hexed

    hexed Peon

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    You seem to think I'm asking you as a question. The question mark was mainly there to make it seem like I was being polite. Let me rephrase this so you understand.

    Make us a tool.

    :p

    Hexed
     
    hexed, Jun 3, 2004 IP
  4. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    It would be time- saving... hexed I think you're lazy ;)
     
    schlottke, Jun 3, 2004 IP
  5. rocky

    rocky Guest

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Yeah, do it now!
     
    rocky, Jun 3, 2004 IP
  6. disgust

    disgust Guest

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    is there even any real need for something like this, though..?

    one more thing I'm curious about: does the tracker on digitalpoint always use the same datacenter? if not, could it be changed to do that? and could the one it uses be publicly shown?
     
    disgust, Jun 3, 2004 IP
  7. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,285
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #7
    The tracker does not use a specific data center. It uses the Google API.
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 3, 2004 IP
  8. disgust

    disgust Guest

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    the API must query a specific IP though, right? or is the database for the API different from the public databases that give the SERPs?
     
    disgust, Jun 10, 2004 IP
  9. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,285
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #9
    The API queries a specific DNS name. Which can route to the proper data center. Just like querying at www.google.com puts the user on the appropriate data center automatically.
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 10, 2004 IP