1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

New Server New Experience

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by oo7ml, Jan 24, 2015.

Hi,

I have just bought a monthly VM.

I have been building websites for the last 10 years, but i am quite new to Server world.

I've figured out how to create new hosting / cPanel accounts for new clients via WHM, however i am struggling to get an understanding of what is required from the domain side.

Can anyone help with the steps required for the following two scenarios.

01 - i've bought a new domain name for my client, and now i need to link it to the hosting / cPanel account that i have just created for them

02 - my client has purchased a domain name else where, and i now need to link it to the hosting / cPanel account that i have just created for them

Thanks so much in advance to anyone who can help.

oo7ml, Jan 24, 2015 IP
  2. JEET

JEET Notable Member

Best Answers:
    Both your questions have the same answer. When you purchased a server, you must have pointed a domain to it's IPS
    ex: domain.com
    You must have done this while ordering the server.

Go to your domain control panel and add A records like:
    ns1.domain.com (points to your server IP)
    ns2.domain.com (points to your server IP)
    ns3.domain.com (points to your server IP)
    etc...

This next step might be optional depending on your domain provider.
    Using the same ns1, ns2, etc. create child nameservers, again pointing to the same IPS

Now when you or your clients buy domain names (from anywhere), all they need to do is use these ns1.domain.com , ns2.domain.com nameservers with their domains.
    ex: I bought: mydomain.com from godaddy