1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

New Feature: Ambient Orb Support

Discussion in 'Keyword Tracker' started by digitalpoint, Jan 21, 2005.

  1. joeychgo

    joeychgo Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    321
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    #21
    $150.00 is a little steep - but it is totally cool for geek factor
    SEMrush
     
    joeychgo, Jan 24, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. SEbasic

    SEbasic Peon

    Messages:
    6,317
    Likes Received:
    318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #22
    Man... Can you really not get one in the UK?????
     
    SEbasic, Jan 24, 2005 IP
  3. joeychgo

    joeychgo Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    321
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    #23
    you can get it - but it wont work -
     
    joeychgo, Jan 24, 2005 IP
  4. SEbasic

    SEbasic Peon

    Messages:
    6,317
    Likes Received:
    318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #24
    What does it rely on then...

    This sucks.. I really want one...
     
    SEbasic, Jan 24, 2005 IP
  5. Lever

    Lever Deep Thought

    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    94
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    145
    #25
    It works on the "ambient information network" and US coverage is supposed to be "in excess of 90%"... so they must piggy-back the cellphone network

    I bet it wouldn't take much to have the same system over here... Configuring it to the weather forecast would be cool - can see if it's gonna be a good day to go biking :D Or to your AdSense earnings...

    I love their spiel, though...
    Oh, OK then, lucky I got a small house
     
    Lever, Jan 24, 2005 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #26
    They are working on getting coverage in Canada and Europe, but who knows when it will actually happen. As a FYI, it uses the old network for pagers. :)
     
    digitalpoint, Jan 24, 2005 IP
  7. maverick

    maverick Peon

    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #27
    Wow this is awesome. But sucks, it wont work in Asia. I hope to have it soon there. Its full of info and fun. $150 is little bit higher side, but who wont like to have such cool toy with one ;)
     
    maverick, Jan 24, 2005 IP
  8. yfs1

    yfs1 User Title Not Found

    Messages:
    13,798
    Likes Received:
    922
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #28
    yfs1, Jan 25, 2005 IP
  9. THT

    THT Peon

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #29
    apparently Uk support in 2006...
     
    THT, Jan 26, 2005 IP
  10. hulkster

    hulkster Peon

    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #30
    While starting to look at the new Yahoo/MSN features in the KW tracker (how many more times do you want to hear "GREAT JOB" Shawn?!?), I noticed a field that allows you to enter the serial number of your Ambient Orb. I don't have one of these, but Shawn's explanation of the Ambient Orb is, as always, informative and interesting ... so I started a thread to mention this to folks, but found this one, so I'll post it here.

    Very cool ... and very geeky! ;-)

    alek

    P.S. Shawn: Firefox appears to be a bit overly picking on the closing tags on this page as it shows in all STRONG/RED font after "If you want an ambient orb" - i.e. even items #5 and #6 ... my guess is if you switched the </strong></font> closing tags just before "Okay, I have one." that it would render more properly - IE handles this correctly.

    PPS. Per a previous post of yours Shawn, I'd be curious how many people are actually using this.
     
    hulkster, Mar 30, 2005 IP
  11. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #31
    FireFox is very unforgiving... :) I fixed it.
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 30, 2005 IP
  12. hulkster

    hulkster Peon

    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #32
    Looks good now (Firefox 1.x on Windoze XP).

    Yea, in an ideal world, HTML/CSS would always be W3C compliant, but s*it happens, and I was kinda surprised that the browser wasn't more forgiving of the tag order mismatch.

    alek
     
    hulkster, Mar 30, 2005 IP
  13. THT

    THT Peon

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #33
    shawn - anyway to manually pipeout data?

    Being inthe uk... i ve ordered the orb and the dev kit so i can hook it up.
    What code are you using to determine which color the orb is?

    I would also mention Ambient Orb but then that would be a blatent plug....
    If anyone feels like buying through the above website,,,,, feel free ;)
     
    THT, Mar 30, 2005 IP
  14. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #34
    You can't determine what color it currently is... you can only set the color (with the normal method anyway). Also, unless you are planning on hooking your orb up to your computer physically (serial port) you aren't going to be able to do much, since the signal network is limited to North America (maybe even just the US).
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 30, 2005 IP
  15. THT

    THT Peon

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #35
    yeah thats what the dev kit does. (serial driven)

    So do you just do a general calculation on whether the SERPS are up or down and set the color accordingly?
     
    THT, Mar 30, 2005 IP
  16. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #36
    Yep... basically.
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 30, 2005 IP
  17. THT

    THT Peon

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #37
    ok - im just trying t think of the best way to replicate the effect using the dev kit and going through seria rather than throguh the pager network
     
    THT, Mar 30, 2005 IP
  18. Lever

    Lever Deep Thought

    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    94
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    145
    #38
    I know this is an old thread, Shawn, but what tools do you use to let you know when the server load's at a certain level?
     
    Lever, Aug 3, 2007 IP
  19. chachi

    chachi The other Jason

    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    57
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #39
    heh, this thread popped up in my CP, but I saw your name and figured it wasn't spam. Is anyone still using the Orb?
     
    chachi, Aug 8, 2007 IP
  20. THT

    THT Peon

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #40
    ive got one but not using it for this as im in the UK!
     
    THT, Aug 9, 2007 IP