1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Need help with AWS site

Discussion in 'Amazon' started by fryman, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. #1
    I just got hold of a new amazon affiliate site. I already have an associates account with them, but where do I get the affiliate code I need to put in my store?
     
    fryman, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  2. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    526
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    If you create an affiliate link of any kind with them you'll see your code in the link.

    It's also at the top of the page (right side) when you log in to your amazon associate account.

    If you can't find it you can always use mine:D
     
    GuyFromChicago, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  3. samsam

    samsam Peon

    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    53
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    you can rotate my account with GuyFromChicago's account, I don;t mind !! Thanks :)
     
    samsam, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  4. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    You can use the same links (format) as your other stores if you want.

    Otherwise, use the wizards and it's all done for you, then after a while you;ll notice what the variables are and you can type them manually.
     
    T0PS3O, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  5. vagrant

    vagrant Peon

    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    181
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    use w ww.amazon.com/gp/aws/registration/registration-form.html

    for your own valid aws developer token... invalid old ones just make the income voide now :( enter it into your aws program where it asks for it.

    other than that just use your normal amazon affil code in the required place.

    what aws script are you using ?
     
    vagrant, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  6. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    mr rats... could you tell me what does the developer token mean?
    In my account it seems that my id would be submittecom-20, I inserted that id into my site, but what is the developer token?
     
    fryman, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  7. chachi

    chachi The other Jason

    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    57
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I think they have done away with the need for the dev tokens. I don't think you need to be concerned about it
     
    chachi, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  8. vagrant

    vagrant Peon

    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    181
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    not accroding to the amazon own forms.


    Mr rat, on his forums posted an updated dev token for use in his old aws3 scripts as it was out of date.

    see http://www.absolutefreebies.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7959972


    the dev token is just a number that tells amazon aws servers that you are allowed to access them
     
    vagrant, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  9. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    My site is working fine, so I guess I don't need to modify anything. The developer token has nothing to do with your comissions, right? I mean, as long as I have inserted my affiliate ID I will haven o problems getting credit for the sales, right?
     
    fryman, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  10. yo-yo

    yo-yo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,617
    Likes Received:
    205
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #10
    You need a subscription id i think it is for querying the site for products. You have to apply for it within the program.
     
    yo-yo, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  11. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    OK, I don't know if I aren't making myself clear but you people are really confusing me... my question is this:

    I bought a AWS site, it works perfectly, do I need to change anything apart from my afiliate ID? What the heck is a subscription id??
     
    fryman, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  12. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    526
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Here man, this should help out.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  13. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Thanks, but since I have been trying to get the coop code working on a site for 5 hours I really don't feel like going through 500 quesitons in a faq... if someone could just give me that simple answer it would be more than enough
     
    fryman, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  14. yo-yo

    yo-yo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,617
    Likes Received:
    205
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #14
    Fry,

    I'm not using the same script as you, but the one I am using says every time your script queries amazon for products and info you need a subscription ID ontop of the associates ID.

    Heres a link....

     
    yo-yo, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  15. Cyclops

    Cyclops sensei

    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    72
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Fryman....I just change my Amazon ID over, Im 90% positive it's as simple as that.
    For conformation PM Noppid, he knows all there is to know about AWS.

    Let us know how you get on.
     
    Cyclops, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  16. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Thanks... one problem solved... now if could only get the coop code to work on my site...
     
    fryman, Jul 21, 2005 IP
  17. Nintendo

    Nintendo ♬ King of da Wackos ♬

    Messages:
    12,888
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #17
    Only the script maker needs to worry about the developer token/subscription ID. This way if some one makes a script that say does major load on Amazon's server (If that's possible) Amazon can contact them, and to contact them about AWS updates. If you got a script that wasn't made long ago, it'll work, and you'll get credit, if you enter your associate ID there.
     
    Nintendo, Jul 21, 2005 IP