1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Need Help with Adsense on my site? Ads way too big and intrusive!

Discussion in 'AdSense' started by JohnHoward28, Feb 28, 2020.

Hi all. I am a newbie here, and new to Adsense, although my website is older. I appreciate your patience with me as I learn the ropes here.

So, I have had my site for about 10 years. I started to seriously develop it about four years ago when I upgraded the whole site from a basic HTML site to a content managed Word Press site. A month ago, I decided to sign my site up for Adsense. I have a LOT of content, so I was approved with no problem. Not knowing anything about Adsense, I just set everything to AUTO and let Google decided where to put the ads. At first, I did not see many ads on the site, but now they are all over. The problem is, they are HUGE and in the wrong places. Take for example this screenshot from my phone.

Screenshot_20200228-173410_Chrome.jpg

As you can see, the ads take up the top 70% of the screen real estate, pushing the content to the bottom. This is causing a big increase in bounce rates on my site where people immediately leave my site.

Another problem is that an ad also appears at the bottom of the page. The problem with this is that I have a comment section at the bottom of my page that is bookmarked further up on the page. Clicking on the bookmark is supposed to take the visitor to the comment section, but now it takes them to an ad and the comment section is off the screen.