1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Need help starting a blog

Discussion in 'Blogging' started by JasonLS, Feb 13, 2016.

For a little over a week I have been trying to start up a blog. My problem is that my blog needs to cover multiple different topics and everything I have read says you should only have one. I am an Artist, I am planning to hike the Pacific Crest Trail next year, I am overweight, and I am in poor health. These are the areas my blog will cover. But I can't find anything that tells me how to work with all of these topics at once. I can find numerous examples for one but not all. As if bloggers who have hiked, or a planning to hike, the PCT are in perfect health. So how do I write about all of these at once? Where can I go to help me find a writing template to organize my thoughts and topics for weekly posts?

On a side note, is it normal or customary to spend your first post talking about what your going to blog about in the future? Or do I just surprise my audience week to week?

JasonLS, Feb 13, 2016 IP
  2. sarahk

sarahk iTamer Staff

Best Answers:
    I'd probably split into two blogs. 1 for your professional life as an artist and one for your personal life. They can cross reference. People do, sometimes, want to know more about the artist whose work they've bought but I wouldn't want a warts and all familiarity myself.

So on your personal blog you might have 10 posts about a training camp, nerves before, events during and recovery after but on your professional blog you might just have 1 post saying you'd been and what esoteric, arty things you liked and how it's good to down tools and expand your life experiences kind of thing.