1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

mysql table adminstration scripts in php

Discussion in 'PHP' started by gether, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. gether

    gether Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #21
    alright .. picking up points from here and there..

    html variable name can extend to that formated space

    mysql database table feild row column ? is confusing me .. every block of code is called something ... ?

    addressable memory space must have many data types ? | | is that line called something ?
     
    gether, Jan 17, 2013 IP
  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    37
    Best Answers:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #22
    No such thing. HTML isn't a programming language, so it doesn't have variables, so they don't have names.

    What's "formatted space"? (In 4 decades of programming, I've never heard the term.)

    There are no "blocks of code" in a database. A database consists of table in which there are records that have fields.

    Memory space doesn't have data types.

    Pipe.

    As I said, in order to ask questions, you need to learn a lot more. You don't yet know enough to ask questions. Start by learning programming. "Picking up points from here and there" is like plucking weeds out of the ground, then asking questions about genetic engineering, because you've held "genes" in your hand.

    You're not going to learn anything by asking questions at your level.
     
    Rukbat, Jan 17, 2013 IP
  3. gether

    gether Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #23
    in an html form

    <form>
    name:
    email:
    address:
    </form>

    thats not called a variable name ?

    and if i wanted a php script to $GET ['variablename]

    its not called a variable name ?
     
    gether, Jan 17, 2013 IP
  4. Rukbat

    Rukbat Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    37
    Best Answers:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #24
    No, they're called "text", and unless you send them to the PHP file (using AJAX, making them the values of elements, etc.) the PHP file won't know them.
     
    Rukbat, Jan 17, 2013 IP
  5. gether

    gether Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #25
    i mean .. if you take a simple html registration form .. it has form feilds where the user enters the values or variable values

    and when you click submit button .. the button form action .. gives it to a php script ...

    most of the time the php script is like .. $GET['variablename']




    registerdemo2.PNG

    in that there is a "your name" : empty column

    i used to call it .. a variable name
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
    gether, Jan 18, 2013 IP
  6. Rukbat

    Rukbat Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    37
    Best Answers:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #26
    It has labels and textboxes.

    The user enters data into the textboxes - there are no 'variables' there.

    And that's a variable - but that's in PHP, not in HTML.

    "Your Name:" is a label. The box next to it is a textbox. There are no variables there.

    And you're wrong - HTML has no variables. (PHP does, but that doesn't put them into HTML.)
     
    Rukbat, Jan 18, 2013 IP
  7. gether

    gether Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #27
    so the php script is trying to get the label name from the html form?

    $name = $_GET['name']

    $email = $_GET['email']

    $country = $_GET['country']
     
    gether, Jan 18, 2013 IP
  8. Rukbat

    Rukbat Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    37
    Best Answers:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #28
    No, the label doesn't have a name, it has a value.

    If name, email and country are names of elements, not if they're text in labels.

    (And there's no reason to duplicate variables like that. $_GET['name'] is a perfectly good variable, you don't have to create a new one that holds the same value.)
     
    Rukbat, Jan 19, 2013 IP