1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

My Million Dollar Startup

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Shay.Armstrong, Jan 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
    Hello,

Allow me to introduce myself.

My name is Shay Armstrong. I have more then 10 years experience with software development and project management. In recent years, my focus has been entirely on internet technologies. On February 24th I will be 32 years old of age.

For close to 18 months I’ve been working on a prototype of a product that I believe will be sought after by the internet community. The development had reached the point where I was ready to start looking for venture capitalists to invest in my idea.

Then I saw how successful Alex Tew was with his “Million dollar homepage” and all the media coverage about the auction for the last 1000 pixels. I thought that if I could come up with a way to enhance that idea so that both parties can benefit from the popularity, I could raise the money I needed to start my business and give my customers good, inexpensive advertising.

The Idea
    Setup a website where people can buy pixels to advertise their business. So far, there is nothing new here. However, in order to add additional excitement and value to buying my pixels, I came up with an idea… Have a contest. All of the people who buy pixels will be eligible to win the right to use the mega banner at the top of the home page. Pixel owners will automatically be entered into a lottery. The lucky winner will have the right to use the top banner on the home page to advertise his business. You can’t buy the banner, you MUST WIN IT.