1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

My Internet Sucks.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by iOmegaSoap, Jun 7, 2016.

?

Do You This My Internet At Home Sucks?

  1. Yes

    100.0%
  2. No

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Maybe

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. #1
    ---- Stop Trying To Google Me And Get Info About Me ----
    SEMrush
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2017
    iOmegaSoap, Jun 7, 2016 IP
    SEMrush
  2. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,251
    Likes Received:
    3,438
    Best Answers:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    665
    #2
    [​IMG]
    I might have to go an live with your grandparents too :)
     
    sarahk, Jun 7, 2016 IP
  3. Digital_shubhi

    Digital_shubhi Prominent Member

    Messages:
    11,534
    Likes Received:
    759
    Best Answers:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    355
    #3
    Mine sucks even more.. The Worst speed internet and even worse is the upload speed. :(
    [​IMG]
     
    Digital_shubhi, Jun 11, 2016 IP
  4. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    724
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #4
    Lol
    Screenshot_20160618-173716.png

    That's on mobile using 4G. Unfortunately there was a fiber cable breach earlier today, so my actual broadband is currently down.
     
    PoPSiCLe, Jun 18, 2016 IP
  5. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,251
    Likes Received:
    3,438
    Best Answers:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    665
    #5
    We just got fibre - and I access it over wifi
    [​IMG]

    And while the workers use wifi the teenaged boy gets ethernet that looks like this

    upload_2016-7-27_18-46-23.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2016
    sarahk, Jul 26, 2016 IP
  6. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    724
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #6
    Nice... I beat you on download, but I wouldn't mind that upload speed - mine's currently maxed at around 28Mbps
     
    PoPSiCLe, Jul 26, 2016 IP
  7. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,251
    Likes Received:
    3,438
    Best Answers:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    665
    #7
    I upload php scripts, totally wasted on me :)
     
    sarahk, Jul 26, 2016 IP
  8. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    724
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #8
    Well. P2p takes a bit, and also running some fileservers in general (for network access to local stuff) - it's a bit of a pain when offsite having to wait for files to transfer.
     
    PoPSiCLe, Jul 26, 2016 IP
  9. Froggys

    Froggys Greenhorn

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    #9
    Nice results,I think I will never have that speed :(
     
    Froggys, Jul 26, 2016 IP
  10. VerdinaNET

    VerdinaNET Greenhorn

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    #10
    Wifi is always worse than cable. For sure. And if it's shared with other people that bad results are completely normal :(
     
    VerdinaNET, Aug 5, 2016 IP
  11. kilbo909

    kilbo909 Peon

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #11
    tenda wifi is the best
     
    kilbo909, Aug 5, 2016 IP
  12. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    724
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #12
    Yes. However, as long as your outside speed does not exceed your WiFi speed, you can probably live with WiFi without any trouble.
     
    PoPSiCLe, Aug 5, 2016 IP
  13. VerdinaNET

    VerdinaNET Greenhorn

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    #13
    Yes, but it's always easier for the signal to travel trough cable. Much less signal loss there.
     
    VerdinaNET, Aug 8, 2016 IP
  14. satguy

    satguy Active Member

    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #14
    In Ireland we get ripped off big time..
    I pay for 360MB Down and 25MB Up ,,, But as you can see, I only get 330MB Down,, and not even 20MB Up.

    [​IMG]

    Rip Off !
     
    satguy, Aug 8, 2016 IP
  15. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    724
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #15
    True, again, but currently we're reaching the max limit for cabled network, while wifi nets are being boosted exponentially (almost). Hence it's probably not gonna last.
    Also, since I get about 270-300 Mbps via wifi (continuously) I can deal with it. If I need to transfer huge amounts of files, or very, very large files, I hook up a cable and run it on 1Gbps instead.
     
    PoPSiCLe, Aug 8, 2016 IP
  16. VerdinaNET

    VerdinaNET Greenhorn

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    #16
    I agree with you. My point is that you can reach your maximum speed your ISP provides you via the cable better :) With wifi u get more loss.
     
    VerdinaNET, Aug 9, 2016 IP
  17. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    724
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #17
    And again, not really. Current Wifi-speed: 300 Mbps. Current ISP speed: 105Mbps. Hence I have 3 times the speed on wifi than on ISP. Even with 6-7 units using the Wifi, I notice no slowdown on the link - it's stable on 300Mbps. Hence the only reason to use cable is internally - on the LAN. For transferring larger files between computers, or similar tasks.
     
    PoPSiCLe, Aug 9, 2016 IP
  18. VerdinaNET

    VerdinaNET Greenhorn

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    #18
    So if the signal travels trough 1 or 2 walls or some kind of obstacles you say you don't get signal loss ?
     
    VerdinaNET, Aug 10, 2016 IP
  19. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    724
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #19
    Depends. You might get signal loss, the question is how MUCH signal loss, and if it's noticeable. As I said, I have a 100 Mbps internet connection. My internal Wifi-connection is 300 Mbps. Even taking into account problems with drops and packet loss, let's say I have twice the actual bandwidth on the internal wifi compared to the internet connection. That means I would need quite a bit of signal loss to take away 50% of the signal. When the router is one wall away, even closer now that I reconfigured the living room, I have no noticeable loss. Also measured both on the router and on the computer, most of the time it's stable 300 Mbps, maybe dropping to 270-280 from time to time. Note: this is a MIMO-router, and most of my connected peripherals have MIMO capability - if they don't, they connect to a different Wifi-network, so they don't interfere.

    New, modern routers have fairly decent capabilities when it comes to signalstrength. I can sit in the park next to my apartment, about 30-40 meters away, and still get a signal - not a very GOOD signal, but enough to surf the web, albeit slowly. About the speed of a B-connection, perhaps. Within the apartment, the only place I have to drop to the 2.4Ghz network is in the bathroom, but that is understandable - concrete walls on one side, plumbing and tiles - all block quite a bit of the signal. However, that does not affect my desktop, naturally, which is sitting in one place, always.
     
    PoPSiCLe, Aug 13, 2016 IP
  20. VerdinaNET

    VerdinaNET Greenhorn

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    #20
    Mimo is to be preferred yes :) Generally i agree with you.
     
    VerdinaNET, Aug 15, 2016 IP