1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

My footer is appearing in my sidebar

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by valandil, Nov 4, 2008.

  1. #1
    Hi guys, if you take a look at my wordpress blog at www.salescopyquickfix.com/blog, you'll notice that it does not have a footer. Instead, it moved to the end of my sidebar. Any ideas how to fix this?
    SEMrush
    Thanks a lot.
     
    valandil, Nov 4, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. mkda

    mkda Active Member

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #2
    First try removing the footer div from the content_box div and place ir outside it.

    If that doesn't fix it, on line 49 in your style.css file add to your #footer:

    It forces it to appear on a new section.

    If you use firefox, as you really should, there is an extension called "firebug". It helps diagnose problems really quickly so use it. Took me 2 min to find the prob, but more time typing this out :)
     
    mkda, Nov 4, 2008 IP
  3. witsols

    witsols Peon

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    There might be a problem in your divs. Define a new div at the end and at that place write the code for menu.

    Zubair.
     
    witsols, Nov 4, 2008 IP
  4. valandil

    valandil Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Thanks man! Adding that sniplet of code works perfect.
     
    valandil, Nov 4, 2008 IP
  5. valandil

    valandil Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Oh sorry. Except if you go to the blog now, there's a line in the middle that cuts through the footer's separation. How to fix that?
     
    valandil, Nov 4, 2008 IP
  6. mkda

    mkda Active Member

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #6
    Tried the other suggestion I mentioned in the post?

    That line is conflicting with the background image of the content_box div (line 33 in your css).

    However, if you move it out from that div, but keep it in the page div, it might still work.
     
    mkda, Nov 4, 2008 IP
  7. valandil

    valandil Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I have no idea where to find the footer div so I can remove it out of the content_box div. In which file is it? CSS?

    Sorry, I'm really new to this.
     
    valandil, Nov 4, 2008 IP
  8. mozart2

    mozart2 Peon

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Just review your codes.. im sure you have missed something in there or omitted something..
     
    mozart2, Nov 4, 2008 IP
  9. valandil

    valandil Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    If I knew how to review it, I wouldn't be asking here. I don't even have any idea where is the footer div that I'm suppose to take out of the content_box div. As far as I can see, it's already out!
     
    valandil, Nov 5, 2008 IP
  10. mkda

    mkda Active Member

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #10
    Seems like you found it, did what I said, and it worked. Good.
     
    mkda, Nov 5, 2008 IP