1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

My .EDU webspace - worthless or valuable?

Discussion in 'Link Development' started by ZachG, Jul 11, 2008.

Hey folks,

As a student, I get some "personal webspace" on the university's web server. I was just wondering if it would be of any value SEO-wise, as I don't know much about .edu or .gov links. I've heard Google doesn't care about .edu and .gov much anymore, too..

The URL format is like my.university.edu/blah/something/myusername/ The top level domain is PR5, but my directory has no PR. Would Google automatically recognize my webspace as an "authority" site, as it's on an .EDU domain name?

I'd love to know if this is worth anything.

Thanks for your help.

ZachG, Jul 11, 2008 IP
  2. Breakaway11

Breakaway11 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    You should build links to your page

But yah, you may be able to sell some links once u do have PR.

Whether or not they count or not, people still chase after .edu

Breakaway11, Jul 11, 2008 IP
  3. lightlysalted

lightlysalted Active Member

Best Answers:
    .edu is highly rated so yes your page could be worth something if you promote it right

lightlysalted, Jul 12, 2008 IP
  4. Spider-Man

Spider-Man Banned

Best Answers:
    Because 'people' are stupid and can't read. Visit Google's own blog or Matt Cutts' blog and you'll find out for yourself - .edu has as much link relevance and weight as any other TLD (whether that be .com, .net or even .info)

Spider-Man, Jul 12, 2008 IP
    sultanofseo likes this.
  5. Breakaway11

Breakaway11 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    I know.. but people do still chase after it.

Breakaway11, Jul 12, 2008 IP
  6. longcall911

longcall911 Peon

Best Answers: