1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

my ads are getting hammered by 1 IP

Discussion in 'Bing Ads' started by smapdi636, Dec 19, 2006.

Not 100% sure if this is cause for concern or not. I'm pretty new to this stuff ... I'm seeing a ton of clicks from 1 IP (different keywords).

I got on the phone with AdCenter about it and they requested logs from me to investigate which I'm sending shortly.

I started my campaign last night but no statistics are showing up yet on AdCenter's site for me to investigate from that end.

I guess I was hoping AdCenter would tell me a few things that they didn't:

1. How can I know for sure this isn't an AdCenter human/bot (I'm pretty sure it isn't). Currently I'm filtering AdCenter with 4 different 65.54.236.xxx IPs but would like a more fool-proof method - is substr($http_user_agnet,0,6) != 'MSNPTC' enough?

2. how can I block known problem IPs from seeing my ads?

smapdi636, Dec 19, 2006 IP
  2. transburgh

transburgh Peon

Best Answers:
    Let us know what MSN says about this. Getting hit by 1 IP has to be either so sort of bot or an error.

transburgh, Dec 19, 2006 IP
  3. nocookies

nocookies Peon

Best Answers:
    It happened to me once in AdWords and I was refunded from those clicks. I guess AdCenter as well have an automated system to detect click fraud.

Please post back how they handled it. It's important that everyone will be aware of such things.

nocookies, Dec 19, 2006 IP
  4. smapdi636

smapdi636 Peon

Best Answers:
    Here's the summary of my results...