1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

multiple dmoz accounts - how?

Discussion in 'ODP / DMOZ' started by winifred gray, Sep 16, 2006.

  1. #1
    How do people who already have editor accounts get second or third accounts?

    Isn't their ip address logged so that dmoz knows these are the same people?
    SEMrush
    Just curious...
     
    winifred gray, Sep 16, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. helleborine

    helleborine Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #2
    Help from your friends that live in other cities, whatever...

    But they can check your IP, and your IP can pinpoint the city you live in, yes.
     
    helleborine, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  3. brizzie

    brizzie Peon

    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    178
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I checked my IP address and it said I was 200 miles away.
     
    brizzie, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  4. gworld

    gworld Prominent Member

    Messages:
    11,324
    Likes Received:
    615
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #4
    That is one of the problems of DMOZ. For example a "senior" editor who have multiple accounts can keep the top account clean and use the new ones to list. ;)

    You can get different Ip in many ways.

    1) Internet Café

    2) second Internet Connection (Dial up for example)

    3) VPN

    4) ......................
     
    gworld, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  5. compostannie

    compostannie Peon

    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    347
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    But wouldn't there be some way of knowing by the computer you use? Surely you can't be anonymous online. I'd expect there would be some way to tell. Otherwise the Internet would be full of crime and fraud and all sorts of scary things. :confused:
     
    compostannie, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  6. gworld

    gworld Prominent Member

    Messages:
    11,324
    Likes Received:
    615
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #6
    They can try with cookies but if you have a good anti-virus program, it cleans up all the cookies.
    How are they going to know which computer you use, if you go to an Internet cafe? Is not even the same computer that you will be using and it only costs $1/hour. Just imagine how many sites you can list in 1 hour and for only a $1. :rolleyes:
     
    gworld, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  7. mariush

    mariush Peon

    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Even easier, install Microsft Virtual PC (computer emulator) and install your Windows inside it. Then, use the emulated pc like any pc. Just keep in mind that both computers have the same IP. But an elite proxy solves that...:)
     
    mariush, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  8. brizzie

    brizzie Peon

    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    178
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Why on earth would you want to go to all that trouble. What is a DMOZ listing actually worth? Nothing.

    You can only be traced by your IP address to your ISP. Depends where you live I guess but most people tend to use huge national ISPs, hence my own IP address resolves to a town 200 miles away. If I log off my broadband connection and reconnect chances are I will be assigned a different IP address. Only your ISP can trace you further. They would only release that information to the police or on a court order. If your ISP is AOL then you may have agreed for your details to be shared within the company, otherwise no chance.
     
    brizzie, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  9. helleborine

    helleborine Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #9
    That's a waste of a dollar. Buy a yourself a chocolate bar instead.
     
    helleborine, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  10. gworld

    gworld Prominent Member

    Messages:
    11,324
    Likes Received:
    615
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #10
    I don't know. Yahoo charges $300 /link and other directories charge from couple of dollars to $30-$40/link, so I suppose if you can add 10 link in 1 hour for just a $1 is not a bad deal. ;)
     
    gworld, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  11. popotalk

    popotalk Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    522
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    260
    #11
    Friends, families and acquaintances in other country. Very simple feed them the data and let them do the editing and log in once in a while at an internet cafe.;)

    Samples are Australia, Spain ( Do I speak and write spanish fluently? Oh I remember, Hell yeah)
    Middle East.
     
    popotalk, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  12. brizzie

    brizzie Peon

    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    178
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    And given the actual commercial value of a link in DMOZ you would still get better value from a chocolate bar. Not sure whether you noticed but according to most people who seem to know a DMOZ link is just another backlink. All those bonuses people used to get from DMOZ? They don't exist any more. Though if you calculated the value of a listing on the labour required - maybe $1 each.
     
    brizzie, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  13. sidjf

    sidjf Peon

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    49
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    If you don't have a static IP address (most people don't), then just restart your router and you have a new IP address.
     
    sidjf, Sep 16, 2006 IP
  14. Ivan Bajlo

    Ivan Bajlo Peon

    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    92
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    <Homer Simpson mod>
    Mmmm... Chocolate bar
    </Homer Simpson mod>
     
    Ivan Bajlo, Sep 16, 2006 IP