1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Multiple Ads Per Page

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004.

  1. #1
    For those that want to run multiple ads per page for a higher weight, you can do so now (up to 5 per page). The weight factoring is not a straight ads multiplied by weight (it's diminishing returns). The 2nd ad is worth slightly less weight than the first, the 3rd ad slightly less than the 2nd, etc.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  2. maha

    maha Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #2
    Once we make the changes to our website , how long before we see the change in our weight total?
     
    maha, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  3. a389951l

    a389951l Must Create More Content

    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    65
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Are the caps still the same? Or has it been increased to allow an incentive to put more ads on each of our pages?
     
    a389951l, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  4. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #4
    Are there any special instructions on how to set up the additional ads?
     
    thebassman, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  5. maha

    maha Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #5
    I just try it and the same ad repeat: "Viagara" "Viagara" "Viagara"

    plese provide instructions.
     
    maha, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,527
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Best Answers:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #6
    maha - I'm hoping to do a full weight update this afternoon.

    a389951l - the cap applies only to pages within your site, not any other part of the weighting algorithm (including multiple ads per page).

    thebassman - Yes, under the setup instructions.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  7. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,527
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Best Answers:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #7
    See setup instructions.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  8. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #8
    Not seeing anything different in the setup instructions... ?
     
    thebassman, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  9. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,527
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Best Answers:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #9
    What site type are you running?
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  10. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #10
    phpbb 2.0.10
     
    thebassman, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  11. a389951l

    a389951l Must Create More Content

    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    65
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I am seeing double ads too at this point following the revised setup instructions.
     
    a389951l, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  12. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #12
    The additional weight instructions are only listed on
    • Movable Type Blog Setup
    • Blogger Blog Setup
    • and any site that supports PHP
    Nothing for the forums... :?
     
    thebassman, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  13. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,527
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Best Answers:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #13
    Oh... I haven't done the instructions for phpBB or vBulletin yet, because they are a little more complex... what it comes down to is you need to call everything once for each ad, but in the case of phpBB it's a little more complicated because you have to assign the {AD_NETWORK} phpBB variable... probably will make it {AD_NETWORK2}, {AD_NETWORK3}, etc. for the different ads.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  14. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,527
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Best Answers:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #14
    Make sure you change what was include_once to be include as it is in the setup.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  15. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #15
    I'd help, but my knowledge of php is pretty much limited to following instructions... LOL... Thanks Shawn. I'll keep checking back to see if you've got it figured out. :D
     
    thebassman, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  16. a389951l

    a389951l Must Create More Content

    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    65
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Yup. I missed that change in your setup instructions. Working now - cool!!
     
    a389951l, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  17. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,527
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Best Answers:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #17
    I know how to do it... just need to figure out a way to make it simple without over complicating things for people who just want to run one.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  18. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #18
    Right... hehe. I hear ya.
     
    thebassman, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  19. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,527
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Best Answers:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #19
    Okay, I popped up the instructions for phpBB. You can be the guinea pig if you want. :)
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 4, 2004 IP
  20. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #20
    Yup, tried it and it works great... I renamed the to AD_NETWORK1, AD_NETWORK2, AD_NETWORK3, AD_NETWORK4 & AD_NETWORK5. I refreshed about 20 times, and I did see a couple doubles every once and a while, but I guess that's to be expected.
     
    thebassman, Oct 4, 2004 IP