1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Multi dedicated servers

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by Dody, May 16, 2008.

  1. #1
    My site is getting at the point that it can't be running smoothly on single dedicated server.
    I was wondering how to run a single website on several dedicated servers
    any one knows an article that describe the proccess of running a site on 2 or more dedicated servers?

    Thanks in advance!
     
    Dody, May 16, 2008 IP
  2. royo

    royo Peon

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Perhaps I might be able to to tell you more if you tell me what your website currently runs, how many users, and what hardware specs you currently have.
     
    royo, May 16, 2008 IP
  3. Afazelpoor

    Afazelpoor Guest

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Too many hits? too many downloads? database not keeping up?
     
    Afazelpoor, May 16, 2008 IP
  4. Dody

    Dody Active Member

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #4
    I have around the 100 000 visitor a day and my server is the best we can get

    Core 2 Duo 2.66 GHz on CentOS
    4GB with cPanel

    that's why I am not into upgrading a single server, I want to run 2 or more.. and yes I am getting too many hits.

    any idea how to run a site one 2 or more dedicated servers?
     
    Dody, May 16, 2008 IP
  5. royo

    royo Peon

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    You'll probably need to move all your SQL stuff to one server and keep web stuff like images and downloads on the other. The simplest solution is to get a better server.
     
    royo, May 16, 2008 IP
  6. Afazelpoor

    Afazelpoor Guest

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Load balancing, you can distribute the load among two or more servers, keep you database on a powerfull server like you have now and setup low end P4 servers upfront.
     
    Afazelpoor, May 16, 2008 IP
  7. locomotion

    locomotion Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #7
    Rare case, seriously. I even went through some sites serving 150k uniques a day with a fairly cheap dedi server( I know that owner)
     
    locomotion, May 16, 2008 IP
  8. argothiusz

    argothiusz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    79
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #8
    Go for
    QUAD CORE XEON x3220 (Kentsfield)
    4GB DDR2 RAM

    That should help.
     
    argothiusz, May 16, 2008 IP
  9. Dody

    Dody Active Member

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #9
    The problem is 4 GB is not enough, so moving to QUAD CORE wouldn't healp much
    I can try moving the webserver into another. But what if I still need the database on two different servers, how could this be archived?
     
    Dody, May 16, 2008 IP
  10. argothiusz

    argothiusz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    79
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #10
    RAM is Great but processor is also help you boost up the speed of your server A LOT.

    I believe QUAD CORE XEON x3220 (Kentsfield) is 2 level above your current processor. Having a site at 2 places will be hard to manage and troublesome.

    What type of site are you running? download? intense use of mySql Database like huge forum?
     
    argothiusz, May 16, 2008 IP
  11. Camay123

    Camay123 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,423
    Likes Received:
    86
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #11
    You should pay someone to set this up for you.

    Maybe ask your server provider ? Some will help you migrate to a better solution free.
     
    Camay123, May 16, 2008 IP
  12. Afazelpoor

    Afazelpoor Guest

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    This is where it gets complicated, you'd need a managed load balancing, anything over 2 servers one of them being the database server.
     
    Afazelpoor, May 16, 2008 IP
  13. xous

    xous Active Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #13
    Hi,

    All anyone can make with the information you are providing is a guess and not one that is very educated.

    What you need to determine is what is causing the problem before you go out and buy anything.
    i.e. apache has too many child processes which is eating up all your memory. MySQL is using too much CPU memory because your tables aren't properly indexed or MySQL has never been tweaked to your needs.

    Some questions that you need to answer:
    What type of site are you operating? Blog/CMS/Forum/etc
    Have you implemented any caching?
    What pages in particular are getting downloaded most often?
    -Do you have lots of downloads? You might benefit from moving all your static content to a cheap low cpu server with lots of bandwidth.

    If you cannot answer these questions yourself you should be able to find a consultant to examine your server and make educated suggestions on the most cost-effective way of increasing performance.
     
    xous, May 17, 2008 IP
  14. Dody

    Dody Active Member

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #14
    I am hosting with godaddy
    and if getting mysql running on 2 servers requires tech help, then I may go for it, as long as I have no idea how to set it up


    I am operating blog, forum and custom php script that i built for my users
    I implemented memcache and that worked smoothly
    the problem is not with the downloads as I didn't exceed the bandwidth limit
    and yes I tried moving my static content into a cheap server and that helped a little, but I am still thinking of moving into 2 servers..
     
    Dody, May 17, 2008 IP
  15. Camay123

    Camay123 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,423
    Likes Received:
    86
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #15
    I beleieve you would get better tech support, help and flexibility if you were with another dedicated server provider.
     
    Camay123, May 17, 2008 IP
  16. rootbinbash

    rootbinbash Peon

    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    88
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    You need a mysql server or a 8gb ram server for forums or if you are using the blog with wp-cache etc.We managed a bigger forum (aroun 120k uniques and over 4m posts) the things you should do :

    -A 8gb ram server or one mysql server
    -You should use optimized themes and reduce query amounts
    -For sure you need a sys admin to optimize the mysql and http settings
     
    rootbinbash, May 17, 2008 IP
  17. EGS

    EGS Notable Member

    Messages:
    6,078
    Likes Received:
    438
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #17
    Well, to be honest, you need a better processor first off, on each single dedicated server that you want to use.
    Upgrade to a Q6600+ processor, you need quad-core - that's that...unless you can afford servers with 36+ cores, but I doubt it. (Refer to DP's servers..)

    You're going to want to run a 64-bit OS, one that can detect more than 4GB of RAM. Most 64-bit OS, even CentOS 64-bit, does not detect 4GB+ of RAM - I know because my server has 4GB of RAM and I'm running 64-bit CentOS.

    Whatever you do, make sure that you're doing RAID 1+.
     
    EGS, May 17, 2008 IP
  18. rootbinbash

    rootbinbash Peon

    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    88
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    ALL OSes can detect this if you compile the kernel.That is an easy fix
     
    rootbinbash, May 17, 2008 IP
  19. Dody

    Dody Active Member

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #19
    A 8 GB server is sure an alternative, I will try to see how possible it is to buy my own and host it at a data center
    thank you allfor all your suggestions, I appreciate it
     
    Dody, May 20, 2008 IP
  20. agnivo007

    agnivo007 Peon

    Messages:
    4,290
    Likes Received:
    289
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    If you need some advice, catch me on IM, I'll be happy to help with hardware specs and optimization.
     
    agnivo007, May 20, 2008 IP